top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelkiresha Zenon

Resurrection of Duke Werstein ~ I Didn’t Hear Anything About Being A Middle-aged Man ~ 9

Updated: Apr 12, 2021

Resurrection of Duke Werstein ~ I Didn’t Hear Anything About Being A Middle-aged Man ~ 9

My name is Christia Laurist.

I am the first child of the Laurist County, a girl who will be twelve years old this winter.

I’m that kind of person, but compared to others of the same age I’m a little too smart it seems.


My tutors all say the same thing, so unless they're all lying to make me feel better, it's probably true.


Mother said that I must have taken after father, but father said that I must have taken after mother, so I think what a similar minded married couple.

I am their child, so I think that I resemble both, but since they can only see each other, I think it can't be helped.


If at all possible, I would like them to be a little calmer when in the presence of others.


It's not that I'm ashamed of my parents being close to each other, it's just that sometimes it's annoying to other people.

That's why I intentionally throw tantrums to get them to focus on me, but because of that, people around me seem to think that I'm a selfish girl, and lately, I feel that people around me are cold.


But it can’t be helped.

If I didn't do this, my parents, who have strong magical powers, would release their magical powers without caring about the people around them, and they might end up getting hurt.

It’s good that they’re close, but I think this really isn’t working and they need to tone down


My parents seem to have a lot of fun when they get along well though.


The cause of quarrels are mainly trivial things, such as father greeting the wife of another family or mother greeting the head of another family, but I don't think it's right to have a magical fight at a party.


Thanks to this, I don't have any friends who are really friends.

If it’s just a waistcoat like person that puts me in a good mood, I have about four daughters from other families like that.


But I am not lonely.


I have cousins, although they are older than me, and above all, my uncle, Duke Werstein, loves me very much even as a mere niece.


However, other than father and mother, all the adults around me speak ill of him.


I don't feel uncomfortable with his big body.

But I can't believe that he's as bad as everyone says he is.


I'm sure everyone has a false impression of him because of his appearance.


Above all, uncle is like family to me.


Father and mother only look at each other, and rarely at me.

That's why I was very happy to see how much my uncle loved me since I was a little girl.


I once tried to ask, why he spoils me so much.

At that time, uncle said with a very sad expression.


You look very much like my wife.


I asked my father if the resemblance was that great, and he agreed that we looked exactly alike except for our eyes.


Still, even if my uncle loved me because I looked like his late wife, I didn't mind at all.


Because he was the only one who would look after me.


But one day, he fell ill.

I was unusually upset, and I cried so much that it annoyed the maidservants.


It was around that time.

The engagement between me and the first prince, Ludwig Sheva Lunamilia, was proposed.

I was indignant, wondering why such a flirtatious proposal was being made to me while my uncle was ill.


However, as a mere Countess, I had no right to refuse, and I was forced to meet the prince.


And the prince who made me meet him in the beautiful garden of the royal castle was a very annoying child.



"... Are you Countess Christia Laurist?"


After a brief greeting, the prince looked at me in a pompous manner and then snickered.


"What's with the slanted eyes?

As expected of the niece of Duke Werstein, the bad personality oozes out.

Someone like this is my fiancée candidate? No thank you."


...... What?


"Oh, then you should live alone for the rest of your life.

It would be better for the world's daughters not to marry someone who mistakenly believes that it is the duty of royalty to immediately humiliate a person you meet for the first time."


I was so angry that I reflexively replied in a rambling manner.

This prince, of all people, had disgraced my beloved uncle.

There was no way I could forgive him.


"What the hell?"


"Or do you want to marry someone who will only listen to you like a doll?

I would like to point out that women, unlike men, are capable of hating their partner to the core when they realize that they are not loved.

If you don't mind being scratched in your sleep, go ahead and find yourself a doll of your choice."


The prince looked at me with a puzzled and stupid expression on his face, and then turned red and glared at me.


"... Who are you talking to like that…?"


“… You turn to power as soon as you get angry. 

To you are the duties of royalty such a light thing?"


Oh, I want to go home.

Why am I with this child?


"What are you trying to say!"


"You don't understand your position, do you?

I don't want such a person to be my fiancée.

You need to understand what the role of the royal family is, what is considered important, and how you should spend your time, and then come back."


"Hey…!"


"Now that I've seen you, I think I'd better go."


I've said everything I wanted to say.

Just breathing the same air as this child makes me angry.


So I decided to leave the place.


“Wait!"

"What is it?"


"... I don't want you to regret this! I'll remove you from the list!"


The prince said this with an imposing attitude, as if it was an ultimatum.


I didn't care if it was the prince who said that, or if he accused me of being disrespectful to the royal family.

A vassal who can't warn the royal family of their wrongdoings is no better than a mere doll.


Therefore, I didn't care about what would happen to me.


So, I glared at the prince without any patience and said to him.


"I don't care, I didn't become a potential fiancé because I wanted to."


“What?"


It must have been quite unexpected.

The prince froze, muttering only that in a small voice.


Well, what a dumb face.


Just as well, let's leave while we still can.


"Well, Your Highness, I'm sure we won't meet again, but if you'll excuse me. Goodbye."


Now I'm relieved! With that, I left the presence of the prince.



For a while after that, I didn’t get any calls from the prince, nor did I hear a sound from him.

But that didn't matter to me from the bottom of my heart.


Since then, I have been praying to the national deity, Lunamilia, every day.

Please save my uncle, please give him back to me.


And it was one day, about a month after uncle collapsed.

I received the news that he had recovered.


I was so happy that I asked my mother if I could visit him right away.


Although she said it was a hassle, she still prepared the letter that day and gave me permission to go see my uncle the next day.


I was so excited to see him that I was awake all night and slept quite late.


Finally, the next day arrived.


I got all dressed up in the morning, chose a dress of his preference, and got into the family carriage.

It took me almost half a day to get from my house to uncle's, but I didn't feel bothered at all.


When I finally arrived at my uncle's house, the butler showed me to the guest room as usual.


It was a place that my uncle had ordered for me, after listening to my preferences.

It was a more comfortable space than my room at home.


As usual, I waited for my uncle to arrive, accompanied by my maid, Lina.

Suddenly, there were two knocks on the door.


“Who would it be?”


Lina called out to the door.

Then I heard the words that I had been waiting for so long, words that made me very happy.


"This is Alfred. Please tell Lady Christia that Master has arrived."


The moment I heard the butler's voice say that, I started running without listening to Lina stop me.

I ran out of the room and hugged my uncle, opening the door with all my might.


"Uncle ... I'm glad! You're fine now! Christia thought, oh Christia thought I wouldn't be able to meet you anymore~…!"


I was so happy that I pressed my head against his stomach with tears in my eyes.


"I'm really, really glad … … … Oh my, uncle, could it be you lost weight?"


I suddenly noticed that uncle’s body had shrunk to half its usual size.

As I hurriedly looked up at him, an all of my ideals fully packed to the point of being very hard to describe, wonderful gentleman stood there.


However, I immediately recognized him as uncle.

Even without looking closely, I could see a lot of characteristics in his face from when he had a bigger body.


The quality of magic that I felt from this person is the same as uncle.

It's dense, deep, and somehow more vast than before, but it's the same.

Even his face is the same.

His long, icy, cold blue eyes relax when he looks at me.


"... Oh, I was asleep, and before I knew it…"


The man who said that smiled faintly as if in some kind of trouble was a very nice man.


"Oh...! Wonderful ...! What a thing...!, I like this kind of uncle too!" 

Oh, but I like the former uncle, too! He was very patient after all!

Oh what to do! The usual uncle was also very wonderful."

"Is that so?"


His long, slitted eyes stared at me.

He was so beautiful that I couldn't take my eyes off him any longer.

Somehow, I thought it was so wonderful, that I was about to not understanding what wonderful was anymore.


"Yeah! But I like you better now! Because you're so cool!"


His previous appearance was like a bear in a picture book, which gave me a sense of security, but his current appearance is so beautiful and cool that I wouldn't care what he does to me.

Ah somehow, I'm getting sick of my lack of expressiveness.


"Cool…"


Somehow I feel that uncle who muttered strangely, is very cute.


"That's right! It's incomparable to that cheeky little kid, the first prince of this country, that I had to meet the other day!"


It was strange to compare him with my uncle, but I felt that my uncle would be hundreds of times better than him if we were to get engaged.


Then he looked at me with a faintly troubled expression on his face.


"Don't be so rude, that’s still royalty."


"But! That child, of all things, laughed at my slanted eyes I got from mother!

And in addition, he even mocked that, as expected of Duke Werstein’s niece, the personality exudes bad character" 


So it's not my fault.


It was all the prince's fault for blaming and mocking uncle without thinking.


“Hmm."


Uncle who rested his chin in his hands and seemed to be in deep thought is also wonderful. 

But, I expressed my words desperately, trying my best to convey my meaning.


"I'll never forgive him! Such an annoying child! Don't you think it's shameful for royalty to judge someone based on their appearance alone!

It's a pity for whoever becomes his fiancée! If it were me I would definitely hate it!"


“Christia."


When uncle quietly called my name, I was shocked.


Although I wanted to clearly express myself, what I did was unbecoming of a lady.

What on earth am I doing, … !


"I'm sorry. I'm sorry, Uncle, I just lost my temper…"


No, it can’t go on like this, if it’s like this, uncle will get tired of me.


"No, you don't have to worry about that in front of me.

However in order to become a proper lady, you need to have a bit more composure."


I was relieved to see him looking at me with such kind eyes.


"My goodness! You're talking like Lina."


I put my hand over my mouth and laugh.


Just the other day, Lina had asked me to calm down a bit.

I guess I'm not a good learner.

I need to work harder.


"Well, it looks like Christia has a good teacher."

"My! Even if that’s the case I'm actually bothered by it you know! Besides, Lina is not a teacher, but a maid, uncle.”


"I see. Then Christia has a good maid of honor.”


Then he smiled at me, his face relaxing gently.

It was the most gentle expression I had ever seen in my life.


"... You've changed after all, Uncle.”

"......... Hmm, you think so?”


"Yes, you were very kind before, but you were always tense.

But now you look so relaxed and refreshed."


"…… I see.“


He looked a little puzzled at my words, and nodded his head.

It's nice to see him like that.


"I can't imagine what could have caused this, but I'm so glad that you finally got rid of your grief. I'm so glad."


He was always looking at me with a somewhat sad expression on his face.

The hand that gently stroked my head was very comfortable, but I knew that it sometimes trembled.


Now, it is gone.


I'm very happy about that.


"Thank you, Christia.

Now, let's have some tea. Would you like to tell me your story?"


I nodded my head in agreement and said, of course.


Then I talked with him about many things.


He had been ill for a month, so there were many things he didn't know, so I had to talk a lot.

But I was so happy to be with him that I didn't feel bothered at all.


The sweets that Uncle prepared tasted better than those made by the famous pastry chef in the capital.

The combination of orange-ish Danish cookies, scones with a hint of sweetness, and fragrant tea was superb.


Suddenly, uncle asked me.


"Would you like to be united with the one you love, Christia?"


I froze for a moment with the pastry in my mouth, but quickly swallowed it, poured more tea into my mouth, and opened my mouth.


"That's certainly the ideal…, But I am a nobleman, and I know that it is impossible."


It was only recently, when it was decided that I would be allowed to meet the prince, that I understood this.

I felt as if I had been reminded that the children of noblemen do not have such freedom.


"Surely, bloodline and position are important to a nobleman."


"Yes, so I, as a nobleman, will accept the fiancé my father has chosen for me."


I answered seriously and stared at uncle.


"Even if it's the first prince, right?"


"...... Yes. I would really hate that though."


I couldn't help but make a bitter face at his words that seemed to test my resolve.


No matter how much I disliked it, it was something I couldn't do anything about for the sake of the family, so it couldn't be helped.


Suddenly, my uncle changed the subject.


"Christia, do you know what the First Prince is like?"


"He's a cocky asshole."

"Where did you learn that word?"


My uncle gave me a stern look of warning as a response to my reflexive outburst.


... I guess I'm not a good learner.


"I'm sorry, Uncle…"


I was on the verge of tears, but I managed to utter a few words of apology.


It can’t be like this, Christia.

Uncle will hate me.


I can't bear that...!


After all, to me uncle is my one and only… !


When I looked at him quietly and fearfully, he didn't seem to be particularly bothered and sipped his cup of tea with an elegant gesture.


“... Well, it's good as long as you reflect on yourself.

Back to the topic at hand... The First Prince as I know him is a lonely child."


With that, he placed the cup on the saucer, making a small clinking sound.


... He is so graceful, beautiful, and cool that I almost forgot that he had just warned me.


No, no, no, no, Kristia, you have to listen to him.


I scolded myself for almost staring at him, and tried my best to pull myself together.


"A lonely child?"


I repeated his words.

He narrowed his eyes slightly, as if remembering something.


"... Do you know what it means to be first in line to the throne?"


I immediately responded to his question.


"It means you have the best chance of becoming king in the future." 

"Yes, it does. But it also means that you can't have yourself."


"What do you mean, myself?"


I must have looked at him strangely, because I couldn't understand what he was trying to say.

He looked at me and smiled faintly.


A smiling uncle, how to say it, I can’t anymore, I can’t describe it.

Ah what to do, I’m super happy right now… .


"Well... Christia, you are not only a Countess, you are also a person named Christia, correct?"

“Yes."


"But the first prince was raised as the crown prince from a young age.

In order to be suitable as the next king."


Uncle says so quietly, but as I thought I don’t really understand, so I end up tilting my head.


“… … Well …"


Then he smiled, so much so that even Lina, my maid of honor, could see it.


... What should I do? This is supposed to be a serious conversation, but I can't concentrate at all.

Lina was also looking at him blankly.


No, I have to switch gears!


"It's a little difficult to understand, isn't it?

Yes, it's a child who has no freedom at all, whose opinions are not listened to, and whom ideals are forced upon, and taken for granted."


Uncle’s words made me feel as though I had been splashed with cold water.


“Something like that as if the norm… ?" 

"That's right. A lonely child, no?"


If that was the case, I had done a terrible thing to the prince.


“Doesn’t he have any friends?”

"Squires and schoolmates, I suppose. But I'm sure they only see the prince as a prince."


Uncle gave a quiet answer to my question.


And, that,


“Oh my… ! What a thing… “


That means that I and the prince are in a similar situation.


I wondered if he also had a reason to have that kind of attitude.

Just like me, purposely throwing a tantrum in the party, in order to stop my parents from fighting.


“… At such a time to even be forced to marry some unknown fiancé, maybe he got annoyed no? A rebellious phase, or venting on others probably.”


Uncle's calm words made my heart ache.


… I had probably acted thoughtlessly.

The reason for the prince’s attitude at that time was almost the same as mine.


... But still, I can't forgive him for what he said about uncle.


"... I can't forgive what that child said to me, but... I think I understand his feelings."

"Then I suggest that the next time you see him, you should be his friend, not his fiancée.”


I nodded my head and made up my mind.


"...... I agree, the next king that can't even have one friend... I don't think he'll make a very good king…"


If the prince were to become king, it would wonder if the country would be destroyed.


"Well... If that's what you think, go ahead and do so.

He may not want it, but if no one meddles, it won't end well.”


"Yes, I'll do that when I get the chance."


And I want to properly apologize to him.

After all, I was also in the wrong.


There’s no such convenient thing as it being okay to vent on others because you are angry. 

You may not forgive me, but there are things that I can't forgive either, so we're even.


Suddenly, my uncle stared at me a little strangely.


“That is, sorry for firing you up myself, but are you sure you want this?" 

"I don't mind, the peace of the country is more important than my own."


If the country is disturbed, it will cause trouble for you.

I'll be happy to become a sacrifice if all I have to do is endure alone!


"… Is that so… Well I’ll always be available for consultation whenever you need."

"Are you sure?


Oh my! What luck!

I never thought my uncle would say something like that to me!


"Ah, it's for my sweet niece. That much is only natural."


I thought I was going to faint for a moment because of how wonderfully he smiled at me again.


"Thank you, Uncle...! I'll do my best!

So that they’ll say they’ll say, as expected of the niece of Duke Werstein, in a good way!"


Oh, I can work as hard as I want for this person.

I must become a lady who is not shameful, as your niece!


"... Don't be too hard on yourself."

"Thank you for your concern. But this is what I want."


He is such a kind and wonderful person, there is no way his niece can be stupid.

I'll do my best, with all my heart and soul, so that the studies I've done up to now will not be for naught!


"Hhn, I see the determination of my family’s princess is firm.

But will you promise me one thing?"

"What is it?"


Uncle smiled faintly, as if somewhat troubled by my firm determination, and spoke.

I listened carefully to make sure I heard every word.


Then, with a very serious look on his face, he stared at me and said.


"Before it gets out of hand, you need to rely on me. That's all I want from you."


The moment I understood, I felt like I was in heaven.


... Oh, oh!

How kind, how beautiful, how perfect you are!

To choose for my sake, the words I want to hear.


I was so happy that I had to try my best to hold back my face from loosening up, and I answered.


"... I don't want to rely on uncle too much, but since you're the one who said it, I'll promise."


Ah somehow, the words didn’t came out very honestly.

Perhaps I was confused by the beauty of my uncle's words.


Then he smiled faintly, as if he were in some kind of trouble, just like before.


"Don't ever get it wrong.”


"Yes!


I reply to him with a big smile on my face.







After this day, the history of this world will begin to change, slowly but surely.


This is because the history of this world is different from the history of the original Augusto Werstein.


Originally, today, on this day, in this place.


He becomes enraged when the girl tells him that she has been engaged to be married to a member of the royal family, and calls her a traitor.


Surrounded by the furniture and decor prepared for her, the shock of being violated by her trusted and respected uncle brings a deep darkness to the girl's heart.

After that incident, the girl despairs that she will never be loved by anyone. Later, when the prince who came to her for an apology is somewhat kind to her, she becomes dependent on him and turns into a yandere¹.


Countess Christia Laurist is 17 years old in the game's timeline.

She is a beautiful girl with waist-length straight blond hair that sweeps up, and large slanted drooping eyes with a deadly light in their green shines.

She is a character who appears in the game as a target for the protagonist if the protagonist is a boy, or as a rival in the prince’s route if the protagonist is a girl.


However, this world is not a game.


It is attempting to deviate from the original storyline of the game, but since it is not a game, there is no power to correct it.


In other words, the world will go on as it is, over time.


God laughs as he looks at everything.


It's going to be really interesting, he says.

It seems he was unexpectedly grinning without noticing.


 
 

[1] : ヤンデレ - A person who will go to near-extreme to extreme lengths to be in or deepen a desired relationship, weather it be romantic, platonic, familial, etc. (taken from Urban Dictionary.com)

4,323 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page