top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelkiresha Zenon

Resurrection of Duke Werstein ~ I Didn’t Hear Anything About Being A Middle-aged Man ~ 8

Updated: Apr 12, 2021



I don't know if it's because I'm not human anymore, but I have basically no appetite.

I don't feel hungry, and I don't feel full.

I don't feel tired at all, and I don't sweat.

... Maybe my hair and nails won't grow either.

No, I don't know about that yet.


But I do feel satisfied when I eat good food.


So that's why I eat good food.


Today's lunch consisted of fried poultry with some kind of spicy sauce, a salad of lettuce-like vegetables, some kind of hard bread, and a light soup, different from the one I had for breakfast.

Somehow it tastes like chicken so it’s probably something like chicken soup¹.


Good food is justice, isn't it?


“Alfredo."

"What is it?"


“Tell him it was delicious."

“Understood, … oh and Master"


I send only a glance as I ask the butler who makes an unusual quick call to add something more.


"What is it?"

“There’s still some time, before Lady Christia arrives, what will you do until then”


Oh, that's right.

Well, I don't know where this Christia-sama is coming from, but it can't be helped that it takes time to move around.


I'll have to search my memory later.

I don't have enough information right now, and I'm afraid I'll get caught up with another person with the same name or something, so I'll do it later.


More importantly, what should I do after this?

Hmm.


Well... I guess I'll write a letter.


I could do some office work, but that would take up too much time, so it's not good for killing time.

Then, I have no choice but to write letters by a process of elimination.

It can’t be helped.


In response to my answer, the butler bowed reverently and then left.


“Understood, so be it."


To myself getting used to seeing the butler's reverent bow, realising my high adaptability, I think, Ah I’m Japanese after all, as I leave my seat.


But that is to say, I feel as though I’ve heard of someone like that before, this Lady Christia I’ll be meeting soon, I wonder who she is.


I guessed from her name that it's a woman, but... No way, Augusto-san, are you cheating?


............... No, I doubt it.

There’s no way, because he loves Julia so much.


While being convinced by myself, I follow the butler into the office.

I'm sure I'd be able to figure out the way thanks to Augusto-san's memory, but it seems this is one of the butler’s jobs, so I can't move around by myself.


... Yeah, aristocrats are so troublesome...!


I thought and before I knew it, I had arrived at the office, so I quickly entered the room and took a seat.


On the desk, there was a neatly laid sheet of clean white paper.

And some spare sheets of identical paper alongside it.


That’s when I realized not parchment but rather paper is used for letters.

Or rather the knowledge suddenly came to me.


... Apparently, the paper used for documents is called parchment.

Ah, I see, no wonder I thought it was strangely hard to write on, so it was animal skin. 

Of course that would be hard to write on, and I had thought it was because of the quill.


As I searched my knowledge, I found out that there are special magic tools used to make paper, and that paper is still not mainstream because there’s not a lot of it.

I heard that only nobles use it because it's quite valuable.


... I don't have the option of not using it.

I'm a very important nobleman, so it would be unnatural if I didn't use it.

Above all, we don't want to be underestimated.

I want to reduce the possibility of assassination as much as possible.


Or the butler will lose his temper.


It’s a problem, it's totally a problem. 

Mainly for me.


... Well, whatever, I'll write the letter for the time being.


It's times like this that Augusto-san's knowledge comes in handy, so I search for it.

Hmmm... how to write a letter is ............ Yeah, okay, I think I can handle it.


I put the text together in my head, rearranging things like what to say and how to write it, wondering if it would be rude or suspicious.

Well, for the time being, I'll put the greeting at the beginning of the letter, and then follow it with the business.


And as expected of Augusto-san, the sentence quickly formed in my mind.


… If it were me, it wouldn’t go like this. 

I’m basically too stupid to write a letter, so I can only write it in a stupid email format.


Hello! I've become a Sage! Can I come over there and say hi sometime? Something like that.


...... Yeah, it's no good.

No matter how you think about it’s no good. 

It will turn into a civil war.


At any rate, I had a sentence in my head that, when summarized, meant the same thing, but had a completely different vibe and sounded very smart.

It's all very formal, but I think it's okay like this, because I'm a nobleman.


... Oh, yeah, there's also a sentence that says if he can't make it, we can cancel it.

I mean, I don’t really get it but I’m like a really important aristocrat, I’ll probably be thought of as annoying, I’ve got to have an escape route prepared.


It should be no problem even if he refuses.

You don't have to go all the way out, and in fact, it might be better if you refuse.

Because the only means of transportation is a horse or something like that, so moving around is basically a big hassle.

No, I’m Augusto-san, so it won't be a problem, but....


... Well, okay, let's just write.


I picked up the quill that was stuck in the pen holder, opened the lid of the ink pot, and dipped the nib.

Then, I wrote the text that came to my mind all at once.


I dipped the tip of the pen into the ink pot several times during the writing process, but the result was really something that looked like it.

No, rather than like, it is a letter, but.


... I don't know how I managed to write it in one shot without making a single mistake.

As expected of Augusto-san.


Me? I'm confident that I'll fail to write anything.

Well, I've never written a letter before, so I guess it can't be helped.


After nodding my head in agreement and giving up, I looked out the window in a daze while waiting for the ink to dry.

The next moment, I stiffened at the sight of the butler standing there without a sound.


That, …really, gave me a surprise… ! 

What? Wait, how long have you been here?


So many times coming out of nowhere, my heart is already aching.


“Alfred"

"I'll take that for you."


If you were there, call out! Is what I was trying to say, but before that the letter I wrote was collected.


... I'm so scared of this butler.


I forced myself to concentrate on my acting, forcing my weak maiden spirit to not cry.

Don't cry. I can do it.


"… Is she here?


I ask quietly, guessing that if the butler is here, it probably means that Lady Christia, the woman I'm supposed to meet today, has arrived.

Then the butler opened his mouth with a reverent bow.



"Yes, the carriage has just arrived.

I've told the maid to take her to the usual guest room, so I think it would be best if we went there now."


It's really nice timing, isn't it?

If you're so competent, I’ll be terrified. I'm scared.

I'm so reliant on you, I'll never be able to do anything on my own.

No, I probably already can’t.


I thought about such things, but there was nothing I could do about it now.

I gave up pretty quickly.


"Well... All right, let's go then."

“I’ll guide you" 

“Uhn"


I got up from my chair and followed the butler to leave the room.


But, for the head of the family to go to the guest room himself, is this Lady Christia such an important person? 

Attributing that to me, I don't think that’s it, but it might be better to be as careful as possible not to let anything slip.


I decided that and pulled myself together.


Then the butler led me to the door of the room, which was very luxurious.

The butler knocked twice on the door without any hesitation.


“Who would it be?”


It was a woman's voice that I heard.


"This is Alfred. Please tell Lady Christia that Master has arrived."


The next moment, as the butler called out from the door, there was a slamming noise and a woman's voice saying, Young Miss! And probably I could hear the voice of the woman from before as well.

Just as I was wondering what the hell was going on, the door was opened with such force that the sound effect of a slam was perfect.


Before I could prepare myself, a small shadow rushed towards me.

I stiffened at the sight of it.


Her beautiful, straight, golden hair, big, light green eyes, and a pretty, light blue dress.


It was Augusto-san's beloved who snatched my mind from the too familiar colors.


The only difference between her and Julia-san was that her large eyes were slanted, and she had a small frame.


"Uncle ... I'm glad! You're fine now! Christia thought, oh Christia thought I wouldn't be able to meet you anymore~…!"


With tears, the little girl stretched her short arms as far as she could and hugged me, pressing her head against my abdomen.


Yes, a little girl.


I'll say it again.


She is, without a doubt, a little girl.


Her age is probably around 11 or so.

She's a little girl.


"I'm really, really glad … … … Oh my, uncle, could it be you lost weight?"


As the tears piled up in the slanted hanging eyes and spilled, the little girl who met my eyes and looked up at me astonished.


"... Oh, I was asleep, and before I knew it…"

"Oh ...! Wonderful ...! What a thing...!, I like this kind of uncle too!" 

Oh, but I like the former uncle, too! He was very patient after all!

Oh what to do! The usual uncle was also very wonderful." 

"Is that so?"


The little girl said, with tears still in the corners of her eyes, staining her cheeks and looking somewhat flustered and confused.

I'm not sure what to make of it.

Or rather, she's staring at me.


"Yeah! But I like you better now! Because you're so cool!"

"Cool…"


I was ruminating on the little girl's words, but I think it can't be helped.

It was the first time I had ever been praised face to face.


"That's right! It's incomparable to that cheeky little kid, the first prince of this country, that I had to meet the other day!"


The little girl said so, with her cheeks dyed the color of cherry blossoms, with an expression like she was left in the heat, the her who looked up at me was incredibly cute.


But I don't really know why, but this little girl thinks very highly of me.

Why?


I mean my previous form was a pig, okay? 

Isn't it strange that she likes me, even as a pig?


... Don't tell me Augusto-san, were you planning Hikaru Genji² or something…! ??


Let me explain!

The Hikari Genji Plan is a perverted plan to kidnap a young child, raise them to your liking, and make them your wife or husband in the future. In short, it's brainwashing!


If she was brainwashed, it wouldn't be strange if she liked pigs like that.


... If Augusto-san was doing such a thing, I can't forgive him.

No matter how much she resembles Julia in color, this girl is not Julia.

Such a crime is unforgivable.


I mean, wait a minute, what did this girl just say?

No, don't say that!

I don't know from where or what I'm hearing! I will be killed!


"Don't be so rude, that’s still royalty."


I warned her softly.

The little girl lifted her large slanted eyes as if to say, even like this, and began to rage.


"But! That child, of all things, laughed at my slanted eyes I got from mother!

And in addition, he even mocked that, as expected of Duke Werstein’s niece, the personality exudes bad character" 

“Hm."


Muki-!³ The fact that I was on the verge of saying that made me terrified, but perhaps because it's a child I wasn't that scared.


I'm sure you're Augusto-san's niece.

I misunderstood. Teehee.


When I sorted out the information and searched my memory, I found one person.

It seems to be Countess Christia Laurist, the eldest daughter of Count Laurist, born from Augusto-san's sister.


... I've heard of Laurist somewhere before...?


Searching, please wait a moment.


One match found.


That's ......... That's Julia's maiden house, isn't it!?

I don't really get it... So, Augusto-san's sister married Julia's brother?

If I think of the face of the two in Augusto-san’s memory, they are categorized by fox like, slanted eyes, wavy silver-hair, blue eyes, a beauty closely resembling Augusto-san, and a very gentle looking, beautiful young man, with characteristic large droopy eyes, straight blond hair and light green eyes. 

… … … Wonderfully only the eyes came out like the mother, I see….


No, but I think she'll be very beautiful in the future! Good for you! Good for you, niece-chan!


... I mean, aren't they each other's in-laws?

Isn't that a bit complicated?

... No, yeah, it's fine.


As I was pondering this alone, niece-chan got heated up before I knew it.


"I'll never forgive him! Such an annoying child! Don't you think it's shameful for royalty to judge someone based on their appearance alone!

It's a pity for whoever becomes his fiancée! If it were me I would definitely hate it!"

“Christia."


Yeah, so please don't say anything so bad about the royal family because they'll execute this middle aged man.

I don't want to die yet.


While thinking about such things as well, I call out to her with a calm performance, niece-chan blocks her mouth with her small hands as if in a hurry.


"I'm sorry. I'm sorry, Uncle, I just lost my temper…"

"No, you don't have to worry about that in front of me.

However in order to become a proper lady, you need to have a bit more composure.”


If you don't, Augusto-san will be executed.

Maybe for insulting royalty or something.


"My goodness! You're talking like Lina."

"Well, it looks like Christia has a good teacher."

"My! Even if that’s the case I'm actually bothered by it you know! Besides, Lina is not a teacher, but a maid, uncle.”


"I see. Then Christia has a good maid of honor."


As soon as I said that, noticing myself faintly laughing, I was frightened.


I don't know what it is, but Augusto-san's face just smiled so naturally!

I hadn't consciously tried to smile before, but it just kind of happened on its own! What a surprise!


I'm sure Augusto-san was coddling his niece, who looks exactly like Julia except for her eyes!


If I search my memory, ah yes, he was totally spoiling her.

I felt sorry for musuko-san, Augusto-san is an idiot.


At that time, I suddenly noticed that niece-chan was looking up at me with an expression of deep emotion.


"... You've changed after all, Uncle.

"......... Hmm, you think so?"


Somehow, I often get that.

Ah, but it can’t be helped. 

The content is different after all.


"Yes, you were very kind before, but you were always tense.

But now you look so relaxed and refreshed."

"...... I see."


The smile on niece-chan's face was so bright that I could only nod.


"I can't imagine what could have caused this, but I'm so glad that you finally got rid of your grief. I'm so glad."


There’s no doubt that Augusto-san spoiled niece-chan, who’s face closely resembled Julia's except for her eyes, as much as one would a cat.


As I ruminated on niece-chan's words in my head, I thought.

Augusto-san's sorrow must have been lifted.

It's ironic, though, that it's because he's dead.


... Well, as for my melancholy, I have a lot of it.

In fact, all I have is melancholy.

I desperately need some healing!


I thought about that, but decided that I couldn't just stand here and watch her talk forever, so I decided to open my mouth while giving niece-chan a glance.


"Thank you, Christia.

Now, let's have some tea. Would you like to tell me your story?"


"Yes! Of course! Lina, prepare the tea."

“I have everything prepared without delay, my lady."

"Oh, my! As expected of Lina"


“Alfred."

"I've already brought the tea cakes."

“Mmm."


And so, we entered the guest room and started a tea like party with a cheerful atmosphere.


Laughing happily, the beautiful and young niece-chan began to talk more and more.


I'd done some research on the things that had happened during the month I was in bed, which Augusto-san didn't remember much or any of, but it was refreshing to hear them from someone else's perspective, and even so more from a child's perspective.


For example, a demon had appeared in another family's territory next to niece-chan's, and the knights who had rushed there had defeated it, then the materials from the demon had been sold to niece-chan's family.

In another territory, there was a rare crop that was apparently obtained through trade, so they took the trouble to bring it in.


I'll have to think about what a demon is at a later date when I have more time, but for now, I'll let it be.


The story of niece-chan's visit to the first prince as a potential fiancée was filled with emotion.

Mostly, anger.


It was hard to change the subject and appease her because she seemed to be about to erupt again if left alone.


But I didn't know niece-chan was a potential fiancée for the prince.

I'll look it up later.


Well, aside from the title, I guess the lineage is appropriate.

After all, being related to the Duchy of Werstein means that you're related to the royal bloodline.


They're about the same age, so maybe it was just as well.


The other reason is... probably magic power.

When I became aware of it, I noticed niece-chan seemed to have more magical power than anyone I've ever met.


I searched my knowledge and found out that the royal family tends to place a high value on bloodline and magic power.

Considering this, niece-chan is probably a very strong candidate.


She doesn't seem to like the prince very much, though.

It's the worst kind of first impression, I guess.


Well, in a standard story, they might be attracted to each other somehow after this, but... But this is reality.


I guess not.


But if she dislikes the prince this much, I think she could end up in a lot of trouble later on.

For example, she could be accused of treason, or be carried on the shoulders of anti kingdom extremists, and the list goes on and on.

If it gets nasty around her, it'll get nasty around me.


Before that happens, let's nip it in the bud.

I'm sure I can still fix it.


That's why I'm going to do my best.


"Would you like to be united with the one you love, Christia?"

"That's certainly the ideal... But I am a nobleman, and I know that it is impossible."


In response to my question, niece-chan replied in a slightly distressed tone.


Aristocratic children are smarter than common children, the amount they study more, was in Augusto-san’s knowledge, but niece-chan may be particularly remarkable. 

Well, girls have this realistic say to them, right. 

But I guess that's what it means to strike a chord.


Personally, I think I might like this niece-chan.


I opened my mouth without hesitation, thinking about such things.


"Surely, bloodline and position are important to a nobleman."


"Yes, so I, as a nobleman, will accept the fiancé my father has chosen for me."


The niece-chan who said so with a serious attitude made an expression unlike that of a child.


When I was about this age, all I can remember is playing with the playground equipment at my elementary school to see how high I could climb, and getting scolded by the teacher.


But I see now that they are aware of their position, and that aristocratic children have to force themselves to mature fast to get by.


"Even if it's the first prince, right?"


"...... Yes. I would really hate it though."


When I asked for confirmation, niece-chan frowned with a bitter expression on her face, as if she had drunk green juice.


You really don't like it, do you?

Yeah, but you're dealing with a prince, so try to control yourself.


"Christia, do you know what the First Prince is like?"


"He's a cocky asshole."

"Where did you learn that word?"


In response to my question, niece-chan, who had the dignified air of a young lady, spoke up and said something so outrageous that I reflexively warned her.


"I'm sorry, Uncle…"


Immediately, niece-chan reflected with an auspicious attitude.

My caution must have had some effect on her, because she looked so depressed that she looked like she was about to burst into tears.


Yes, I'm sorry, I have a scary face, I know it was scary.

But I was so surprised.


You can't use such a swear word against the prince, young lady.

The future of my execution will become very real.


Stop it, seriously.

Children are scary like that.


I sipped at my cup of tea, feeling a complicated fear of niece-chan like that inside.


Oh, this is delicious.


... Yes, I've calmed down a bit, so let's get back to the story.


“... Well, it's good as long as you reflect on yourself.

Back to the topic at hand... The First Prince as I know him is a lonely child."


With that, I put the cup on the saucer, making a small sound, Kotori.


I've never met the prince personally, but I found out earlier when I searched for information about him that Augusto-san had at least exchanged greetings with him.

I don't want to pry into Augusto-san's private life, but I don't think it's a problem to look at his memories in public. Privately.

I think it's necessary for smoothing out our relationship in the future.

So, my impression of the prince in that memory was that of a child who acted arrogantly to cover up his loneliness.


"A lonely child?"


Niece-chan ruminated on my words curiously.


"... Do you know what it means to be first in line to the throne?"


"It means you have the best chance of becoming king in the future." 

"Yes, it does. But it also means that you can't have yourself."


"What do you mean, myself?"


She was still too young to understand what I was saying.

She looks at me strangely.


"Well... Christia, you are not only a Countess, you are also a person named Christia, correct?"

“Yes."


"But the first prince was raised as the crown prince from a young age.

In order to be suitable as the next king."


I say so quietly, but niece-chan tilts her head, with a expression of uncertainty in her face"


“… … Well …"


Oh, my what's with this girl, she’s so cute. 

I feel like I'm watching a small animal.


"It's a little difficult to understand, isn't it?

Uhm, it's a child who has no freedom at all, whose opinions are not listened to, and whom ideals are forced upon, and taken for granted."


“Something like that as if the norm… ?" 

"That's right. A lonely child, no?"


When I asked if she agreed with me, she looked down a little and made a pretense of thinking, then suddenly looked up.


“Doesn’t he have any friends?”

"Squires and schoolmates, I suppose. But I'm sure they only see the prince as a prince."


I replied to her question in a quiet manner.

Then she gasped and blinked.


“Oh my… ! What a thing… “


She looked at me with an expression that said, I hadn't thought of that, and then it slowly distorted somewhat sadly and apologetically.


“… At such a time to even be forced to marry some unknown fiancé, maybe he got annoyed, no? A rebellious phase, or taking it out on others probably."


Well, if he had proper friends, he wouldn't be the kind of person who would take it out on niece-chan, right.

That’s why I think I’m probably right.


Even if I'm wrong, as long as niece-chan doesn't dislike the prince too much, there's no problem.


"... I can't forgive what that child said to me, but... I think I understand his feelings."

"Then I suggest that the next time you see him, you should be his friend, not his fiancée."


"...... I agree, the next king that can't even have one friend... I don't think he'll make a very good king…"


After a few moments of silence, she muttered as if she had made up her mind.


Oh my, going in that direction are you.


He’s so pitiful so I’ll become his friend! That it doesn’t become a childish idea like that, if I say it’s like niece-chan, it's like niece-chan.


"Well... If that's what you think, go ahead and do so.

He may not want it, but if no one meddles, it won't end well."


"Yes, I'll do that when I get the chance."


Towards her who nodded with a Kokuri and stares at me with a determined expression, I feel a sense of guilt.


“That is sorry for firing you up myself, but are you sure you want this?"

"I don't mind, the peace of the country is more important than my own."


Oh, I see. She's really smart, isn't she?

This older sister likes smart girls.


But, the fact that she acts like her having to sacrifice is a matter of course, I don’t agree with that a bit.


"… Is that so… Well I’ll always be available for consultation whenever you need."

"Are you sure?"


Niece-chan looked at me with dyed cheeks and a very happy expression on her face.


"Ah, it's for my sweet niece. That much is only natural."


With a mouth that naturally loosens, I feel a certain annoyance towards Augusto-san as I say so.


"Thank you, Uncle...! I'll do my best!

So that they will say they’ll say, as expected of the niece of Duke Werstein, in a good way!"


Ah, yeh, I didn't mean it like that.

I’m not sure why you’re indulging me and renewing your determination.


"... Don't be too hard on yourself."

"Thank you for your concern. But this is what I want."


I was told so with a sharp expression, and I felt an unbearable feeling.

Who is it, the person who educated this child.


"Hhn, I see the determination of my family’s princess is firm.

But will you promise me one thing?"

"What is it?"


It’s impossible to be made to live in such a way as if it were only natural to kill your heart from such a young age when you're not even royalty.

Something like that can wait for when you’re older.


Or in her case she's so smart that she figured it out alone.

If that's the case, it's too risky at this age.


With this thought in mind, I stared at the little girl in front of me and tell her.


"Before it gets out of hand, you need to rely on me. That's all I want from you."


Then the little girl opened her mouth with a troubled, but somehow happy, grin.


"... I don't want to rely on uncle too much, but since you're the one who said it, I'll promise."


Yes! I've got your word!

Children are best when they are honest.


From the look on her face, I could immediately tell that my words were exactly what she wanted.

She looks so happy.


"Don't ever get it wrong."


“Yes!"


Niece-chan's cheerful reply to my reminder was incredibly adorable.


Oh my God, she's so cute.


It was an afternoon that made me think, let's work a little harder.

 
 

[1] : the author uses 鳥肉の味(toriniku) which means bird meat/chicken and チキンスープ(Chikinsūpu) for chicken soup.


[2] : 光源氏計画(Hikarugenji keikaku) - the Hikaru Genji Plan, Japanese romantic trope where (usually) a man raises a girl since childhood and usually falls in love with her later. Where the girl originally sees the man as her father figure or guardian and after coming of age decides she’s in love with him or the opposite or both, she also explains it in the next line or so, but I thought this was more clear, it's not necessarily a pervert raising a child bride okay, not always anyway...


[3] : むきー(Muki--) - SFX for being annoyed/angry/irritated with someone or something, just like じー/ジー(Jii) which is used for staring.


[4] : コトリ(Kotori) SFX of the cup resting on the saucer.


[5] : コクリ(kokuri) SFX for nodding


[6] : 一族 (Ichizoku) - bloodline/clan

4,537 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page