top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelkiresha Zenon

Resurrection of Duke Werstein ~ I Didn’t Hear Anything About Being A Middle-aged Man ~ 6

Updated: Apr 12, 2021

//Melki: the following chapters will take longer since i have to translate from the beginning.

 

I divided one portion and entrusted the rest to the private army members who would come later.

The portion I set aside was delicious of course, but yeah, I thought it would get a heartburn.

As an actress, I am very careful about my dietary restrictions, so these meat dishes are outrageous.

Well no, it was delicious.

But they were definitely high in cholesterol.

This is a menu that middle-aged men should not be allowed to eat. They'll get sick. They'll die early. It's no good.

From now on, I'm going to have to face something that I've been deliberately trying to avoid.

When I turn my gaze to the presence of people, I see the butler smiling calmly.

“Master, the bath is ready, I will show you, please come here.”

That's right. The bath.

Ueeeeeeeeeeeh!!

I feel like crying, but there was no way I could do that.

I feel like a child who really hates injections, but I didn't show it at all and walked off to follow the butler.

And so we arrived at the bath, but what is this shame play.

“What's the matter, Master?”

"No, it's nothing, don't worry about it.”

I was completely naked, and for some reason the butler is washing my body.

I didn't want to know that great people don't wash their bodies by themselves, or that they shouldn’t.

Oh and I’m not sure but it seems like this is the butler’s job as well

... I didn't know that butlers do this kind of thing.

I didn't want to know.

What should I do? I want to cry.

No matter what, I really don’t think this.

Okay, well... At times like this, it's best to think of something else, right?

By the way, I heard that soap is common in this world.

It's being used to wash my body right now, but the drawback is that it doesn't smell very good.

It can't be helped, it's not modern Japan.

I think that world was also very specialized in cosmetology¹.

I don't know how they do it, so I can't do anything to improve the cosmetology world of this world!

Well, if I could do that, maybe I could solve our financial problems right away.

However, after getting a craftsman from somewhere ... not, I mean, oh never mind.

Anyway, I would only be able to pull them in and let them try to experiment at random.

What's the point of that?

Oh, by the way, one more thing.

Augusto-san's body doesn't seem to have all the cracks from his weight loss, or the skin that was supposed to have been stretched by his weight gain... Is this because he's no longer human?

I mean at this point his muscles look so good that they could be sculpted blue.

…… Actually there seems to be something wrong with this expression, what sculpted blue, me. Oh whatever.

But this is amazing.

I thought he would look amazing when he took his clothes off, but he looks better than I expected.

... Between the legs?

Don't know.


I don't want to see it.

I don't want to look at it, because it's completely naked, so I can't help but see it, but if I push it out of my mind, I can get past it.

That's a lie. It's impossible.

But if there's one thing I can say, it's that I'm not an elephant or anything like that.

Please don't ask me anything more than that.

I don't want to think about it.

Yeah, I wonder who I'm talking to.

... I don't know if this is what you call talking to yourself.

“...... It feels like it's been a long time since I've taken care of you, Master.”

"Mmm... is that so"

In instinct I respond to the butler’s murmured words with only that.

"Recently, it seems that it was a maid's job, not me ..., no, I'm sorry."

That's sexual harassment, isn't it?

What? That pig-like figure in the picture was making the maids wash his body?

In the modern era, this could be a crime, huh?

If you get sued, you'll lose, huh?

Don’t joke, Augusto-san you idiot.

The hell are you doing, seriously.

“...... I'm afraid I've caused the girls a lot of trouble.”

"Master ……"

“I wouldn't be surprised if half of them are gone by tomorrow morning.”

Because it’s sexual harassment.

They can’t be blamed, if a pig made them do that.

“... Even so, I'm here to support you.”

“Is that so”

It's getting kind of serious, but all I could think about was the butler washing my body and trying not to worry about my crotch.

After a while, I was finally released from the hellish bath, but I was devastated by the reality that I was not even allowed to wipe my body with a cloth.

The butler washed every inch of my body and then wiped every inch of it.

I did my best not to show it on my face.

I did my best!

... Well, aristocrats are amazing.

It's unthinkable for a commoner to be like this.

As I sat in my desk chair in my room, I was vaguely despairing.

Oh, by the way, as a result of being made to change my clothes, all I'm wearing now is a well-tailored shirt and pants.

I don't care if it was before I was old enough to remember, but now that I'm this old, I can't help but despair until I get used to it.

I mean, will I ever get used to it?

I mean, it's completely shame play, isn't it?

I'm sure my eyes look dead right now. As I was thinking about this, a knock sounded in the room.

“Who is it?”

“It's Alfred, I've brought the seamstress, Chérie.”

“Come in”

“Ah-“

Then the butler opened the door and a woman came in.

The woman was very beautiful, with blonde hair and blue eyes. ...... But for some reason, her eyes are dead.

... I wondered why she was looking at me like that, and the next thing I knew, my eyes met hers.

“What the…!"

The woman inhaled in surprise, and her eyes began to shine.

Huh, what is it?

"Oh ...! My…!"

The woman who said that with a hand over her mouth, looking somewhat happy, somehow came pacing up to me.

Wait, what? What's with you all of a sudden?

“... a lady like you should not so blindly approach a man like this.”

I said, and distanced myself from the woman.

No, you can't approach a man after a bath.

All men are wolves, you know!

I’m totally different though.

I don't have any hobby in that direction.

Then, as soon as she noticed it, the woman opened her mouth in a hurry while bowing in a ladylike way.

"Oh my! I'm sorry about this. I just thought you looked so wonderful that it inspired me to be creative.”

"Hmm, that's an honor.”

I see. So your craftsman's spirit was stimulated by my handsome appearance.

If that's the case, I guess it can't be helped, but I think it's better to be a little more careful, if it weren't me it would have definitely turned into a meal².

She's beautiful enough for me to approve of her, so I hope she'll properly defend herself.


Unaware of my thoughts, she didn't ignored my advice, and approached me once again and started to circle around me happily.


“If it's master, any outfit would look good, really fires me up!

As I thought, if it's blue to match the color of your hair and eyes, but black, no, even if you add some gold, oh! What to do now?!”


Towards the excited her, fluttering all around, I accidentally flirted a little inside, but it can’t be helped.

But, well, it didn’t show in my face.


Because then I would lose my dignity.


“Is that so, it seems I’m suitable for your eyes (glasses).”

"Oh, no, not at all! Rather, out of all the seamstresses in the country, that you chose me at that time, and now I feel nothing but gratitude!”


That means you used to think I was a jerk, right?

However, she seemed to be very excited, which was totally different from when she came into the room.

I wondered if this was her true self.

I was tempted to tell her to calm down for now, but I held my ground.


The way she was looking at me, it seemed like she had become that dead-eyed because she didn't want to have to make clothes for that pig-like Augusto.


“Is that really okay? You hate me, do you not?”

I decided to ask her just to be sure.


“Such a thing was blown away after stimulating my creativity! I’ll sincerely do my best!”


Oh, is that so.


"Well, then, I'll leave it to you. However it’s already late. Today is just meeting and showing faces, right, Alfred?”

“Yes, of course.”

He affirmed it with great confidence.

I'm afraid of this butler's trust.


Uh, yeah, don’t think, don’t think about it.


“Then, today I don’t mind. Come back another time.”

"Yes! Then, when the design of the dressing is completed, I will bring it to you immediately."


The her who smiled happily was very beautiful.

Though I felt a little disappointed in what was inside, but oh well, I'll just make it up to my imagination.


“Oh, I'm looking forward to it.”


I said, and then it occurred to me.

“But aside from that I have another request, you wouldn’t mind would you?”

“Oh my, what would that be?”

She tilted her head curiously, and with a slight chuckle, I tell her.


“I have a lot of clothes that can't be worn anymore because my figure has changed.”


"So you want me to fix them up?”


“No, I was wondering if you could buy them for me.”

After all, this house is going to be in some financial trouble.

If I can make a little extra, I'd like to.

"Buy it? Hmm.”

“Is there a problem?”

“I'm sorry to tell you this, but Master’s outfit was exclusively made for Master”

When I asked her frankly, those words were what came back alongside her reluctant figure.


I see, so she was concerned about that.

"Oh, it's that size, if you take it apart, I think it can be used as a fabric, what do you think?”

"As fabric?”

“That's a matter of course, no? Even if there was someone to wear it, who would buy my clothes?But the fabric is of the highest quality, isn't it? If so, I'd like to sell it not as an outfit, but as fabric.”

"Well! Well, if that's the case, there's no problem at all! Please let me buy it!”


After I explained my intentions to her, who was suspicious, she happily agreed.


Alright then it’s okay now.

Oh, and along the way, I wonder if something can be done about that.


"I see. Thank you for that. And one more thing, do you mind?”

“I don’t mind, please say your orders”


This time I look away from her who is standing there wondering what it is this time, and look at the butler.

"... Alfred.”

"What is it, Master?”

When I call out to him, he immediately approaches and kneels down.

What's with this attitude, it’s creepy.


No good no good, if I mind it, I lose.


“There are other outfits from the past besides the one I'm wearing now, aren't there?”


Yes, apparently, what I'm wearing now are old clothes.


"Yes, there are some... What about it?”


I ask the butler, who looked at me suspiciously for the time being.


“It's a 12 year old outfit, but it can still be worn. Is that not so?”

"You're right, but I'm afraid it's outdated now…"


"Yes, that's it.”


“Yes?”

I nod my head in affirmation, the cost didn’t change, the two called out together with expressions that said they understood.

“There, I want her to do something”

“What would that be?”


The butler, whose expression from earlier has returned to a soft smile, as if to confirm, asks me.

Uh yeah, there’s no subject after all.

I have to giver proper instructions, otherwise who knows what will happen.

So, to put in the most simple and easy way to understand.

“Disassemble everything once and remake it into a different outfit. And of course, change the style to a modern one”


Long story short, it’s a waste so please remake it, is the story.

I have no idea how much each outfit costs, but I do know that it'll be expensive.

I think it's common in any world that rich people's clothes are all expensive and good for nothing.


Then, it's a waste to buy only new clothes or throw others away just because they’re old.

That's what I'm talking about.

Even as an actress, the reason I stunk of poor is naturally because I didn’t sell.

Don't underestimate the common people.


"Oh my! How innovative! You make nostalgia and the current fashion trend live together!”


I don’t really get it, but I decided to abandon her getting excited alone for now.

It’s a hassle, so I’ll just leave it at that.


"Well, that's how it is. Alfred”

“Yes, I understand. Leave the rest to me”


“Uhn. I’ll leave it to you.”


As a result, I threw it to him.

It can’t be helped.


As such, led by the butler, hariko-san³ left the room.


I saw them off and sat down on the edge of the large bed in vain.

......... Now, all that was left to do was sleep.


For a moment, I thought about doing the paperwork again, but I wanted to digest some of the things I've been putting off.

I feel like I've put off so many things that I have a lot of work to do, but I don't regret it because this was my own choice.

Anyway, I'll try to digest as much as I can.


For example, what would Augusto-san do now?


As I could see from the books, I'm sure he's gained a lot of knowledge and stuff, but I'm not Augusto-san after all, so I have no idea how much he used to know.


So, if I don’t try to grasp as much as I can, even a lord will be confused.


It's nighttime now, so I think I'll leave the physical strength and magic power stuff for tomorrow.

So, for now, it's other things.


As I rolled over on the large bed, I randomly searched my mind, and memory.


Suddenly, the image of a very beautiful person passed through my mind.


A girl with long, silky, straight golden hair, light green, large, droopy eyes narrowed happily.

A very beautiful person who looked very good in light blue dresses.


And it seems that her voice was included also in this memory.


‘You know, Werstein-sama, I like the color red. But for some reason, it doesn't suit me. It's always peach or blue. I'm tired of it.’


It was a beautiful and lovely voice, perfectly fitting for the words rolling bell.


‘Then I'll send you a red flower.’

'Really? But will it look good on me?’


'Don't worry, you're beautiful, so any flower will suit you.’


Augusto-san had memorized her gestures, the number of times she blinked, and every word she said.

It was as vivid as if I were watching a recorded video.


Alongside Augusto-san’s feelings at the time as well.


—…. What a lovely person.


Such a warm and gentle feeling.


This memory is the meeting of the two people.

They only met because their parents were friends, but it was love at first sight for both.


I grit my teeth without thinking.


“……………"


I see, that's why there are so many red colors in this mansion.

I'm sure he was happy with any kind of red, even if it was awkward.

It's the color that Julia-san liked.


Suddenly, I heard a pattering sound, as if something had fallen onto the sheets.

—For a moment, I wondered what it was, but then I quickly understood.


I was crying.


Through my tears that would not stop flowing, I absentmindedly think, ah Augusto-san really loved Julia-san.


The memories replaying in my mind were very happy, but at the same time very cruel.


They met, fell in love, got married, had a child, the child grew up, and then....


‘Why! Why? Why Julia!?’

‘Augusto-sama, don’t cry, I was very happy’


‘No, Julia, don't go away, please, God, anyone, save Julia, no, Julia!’


Augusto-san's sorrowful voice and Julia-san's gentle smile, despite her emaciation and the fact that she looked like an old woman.


‘I'm so glad I met you.’


‘No, don't leave me alone, don't leave me, Julia, Julia? Julia! Julia!’


Immediately after that, a sad, animal-like wail echoed.


After that, the memory is very vague, and I could only recognize blurry, incomprehensible thoughts.


All I remembered was bawling, for some incomprehensible reason hitting someone,

Think of something bad for the country, try to do it, and fail.


Failing was not because he is clumsy, but because his memory is blurred whenever he remembers Julia, that seems to be the reason.


It seems it's not as though Augusto was able to do a lot of bad things.

The country's impression of him was probably that he was a small, insignificant villain, or something along those lines.

Since in terms of bloodline they could do nothing, they probably left it aside since it was just a small fry.


However, strangely I have a subtle memory of a rumor that he had a tail fin and spine, and that his people resented him as a lousy lord.

When Augusto-san heard this, he seemed to welcome it.


... I think he's a very sad person.


... But I see, so that's why it’s turned into that kind of half-baked document that can’t be calculated.

If I search in my mind, I can easily find some quite clear memories of the climate of the territory he ruled and how the people lived.

It was the kind of memory that would be useful for me when I work in the future.

Unfortunately, it was from 12 years ago, so it may not be very useful now, but it's better than nothing.


The soul is mine, but the body is Augusto-san's, so it seems that the memories are still there in my head.

... I'm really grateful, but I feel bad that I'm peeking into Augusto-san's mind.

... I guess it's better for my peace of mind if I don't search too much into his private life.


Oh, but I'll check the general knowledge of the aristocracy.

I'll need it to live from now on.


I don't know what I'm going to do about the memories of the butler and his son.

...... It's a private matter, so let's leave it at that.

The tears have not stopped yet.

As I felt the tears dripping down my cheeks, I forced open my mouth, which had been clenched between my teeth, and let out a single breath.


I think I heard somewhere that crying is an act of releasing stress, but as an actress, this is all part of acting.

Sadness, pain, frustration, joy, happiness... I believe that an actor should be able to bring all these out without thinking about it.


However, as a human being and a woman, I am angry at why only Augusto has to go through this.


It's just too pitiful.

The more I replayed the memories, the sadder I became, even with the memories of happier times.

Various voices reverberated in my head.

‘Dad! Why? Am I no longer needed?’

‘Augusto-sama! Look, just now, Michaelis laughed. He's so pretty, just like an angel.’

‘You are no longer my father.’

‘I love you, Augusto.’

... He did nothing wrong.


Everything was the war’s fault.


I was about to bite my teeth again, frustrated and itchy, when I suddenly realized.

Oh, but why?

Even during wars, shouldn’t nobles be able to get their hands on medicine from other countries?


What kind of situation is it where an aristocrat can't even do that?

When I thought about it, I suddenly heard a faint voice in my head.

‘You must not, Augusto-sama, there are a lot of people other than me suffering.’


...... I see, so that disease was prevalent at that time.

In the middle of a war, if you ordered medicine that was hard to get just because you were an aristocrat and very important, you would not only be opposed by your people, but also by the people all over the place.


So Augusto couldn't do anything about it.


‘Augusto, I'm sorry, for now, just for now please bear it… !’


The man's voice reverberated in my memory.


‘I know, I know, but if I don't, Julia will…!’

I wonder if I should know who the owner of this voice is.

But, well, no matter.

Because this is Augusto-san's private life.


I shouldn't be looking at it.

The tears had stopped before I knew it.

Anyway, where does this house stand among the nobles of this world?

For now, I'm going to try to fish out my memory of the area.

...... Hmm?

............... I'm not sure.



Grand Duke.

Duke ← Here right now

Marquess

Senior Count

Lower Counts

Viscount

Baron


Yes?

Well, a Grand Duke is a person who is as great as the king.

Next in line is the duke, who is a member of the king's family.

After that, there are marquesses, senior counts, junior counts, viscounts, and barons, and the degree of greatness decreases in that order.

Yeah, yeah?

Am I really a great person?

No, no, no, no! No way! It's too much trouble! Just being a noble is troublesome enough, but being the second highest after the king?

That's impossible! What do you want me to do!?


Well, anyway, I understand that Augusto is a very important person in terms of his position and bloodline.

If that's the case, then many people were after this position, weren't they?

... It's not impossible that he was tricked by someone.


Even in the glamorous entertainment industry, there was so much turmoil, it wouldn't be surprising if the aristocracy in this world was also in turmoil.


If in the possibility that everything was a trap designed by someone, who is the culprit?


A voice echoed in my head again.


'There is no need for war in this peaceful country, is there?’

'Even so, Duke Werstein, the neighboring country is preparing to attack.’

‘Where did such information come from? No such information has come to my side. Show evidence.’


‘Evidence, you say. Isn't the voice of the people proof?’

‘How can you be so sure that you are not being incited by someone else, Prime Minister?’

‘No…'


There was Augusto-san’s and a voice different from before, then the voice of the first man called again.


... I'm not sure if it's because Augusto-san's voice is too cold, but it sounds like he's the mastermind or some kind of villain.

In addition, the Prime Minister has a very gentle voice, so I can only think of him as a mastermind who is trying to stand up for the country, but is being rebuffed because he has no proof.


But I know.


This voice is misleading.


It's probable this Prime Minister is insanely black-hearted.


In this memory, the appearance of the Prime Minister is an elderly, kind looking old man. I’m sure he’s turned into a super kind old man by now.

His expression, his voice, his atmosphere, everything about him looks really kind.


But his eyes are not smiling.


Not smiling at all.

In fact, thanks to the gentleness everywhere else, even shivers appear.

It’s really scary.

Marquis Ragsdew Reinbach.


Ah, I’m sure the mastermind is this chancellor.


......... No, yeah, but you see.

It's a problem if I’m wrong.

If it has nothing to do with it, there’s no point.

Since the memory at that time is remembered by the impression at that time, there is a possibility that Augusto-san just hates the Prime Minister-san.


It may be too early to judge now.

Well for the time being, if I’m to investigate it, I can just let someone else investigate it.


... Well, I was able to get a lot of necessary information from Augusto-san's memory.

It seems that his memory is, indeed, very good.


I've heard somewhere that we don't use 80% of our brain.

And the memories are all in a drawer, and they can't be erased unless brain cells are destroyed.

In other words, everything about Augusto-san's life up to now is in his head.

Now that he's no longer human, he can pull it all out at will, I guess.


In addition, I feel that my thinking ability has also increased to a level far beyond that of the original me.


So, I'm a perfect superhuman


I thought about it in a carefree way, but I abandoned thinking about "me".

No, not, abandonment.


After “I” died, what did my family do, after that what happened, from here on what will happen, if like this I’ll be dragged into his memories and become Augusto, will “I” disappear eventually, without even thinking about it, all these things, everything.


I rolled over on the bed.


I don't know... I'm tired from using my head too much.

Let's just go to bed.


The next moment, my consciousness sank into the darkness.

 

Author has something to say: I like cereal more than serious.

 
 

Click in the number to go back to where you were before.

[1] : beauty, she basically means that beauty was very valued in her previous world too.


[2] : Get it, get it? *insert lenny face*


[3] : 針子さん - miss needle


[4] : シリアル(shiriaru)


[5] : シリアス(shiriasu)

4,898 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page