top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelkiresha Zenon

Resurrection of Duke Werstein ~ I Didn’t Hear Anything About Being A Middle-aged Man ~ 3

Updated: Apr 12, 2021

//Melki: I changed 'wise man' to 'sage'.¹ Also changed 'August' to 'Augusto', the reason why I used August in my first release (chapter 2) is that the translator of the first chapter used August but I find that Augusto better fits his overall feel and image of the original text so I'll be changing to that from now on.

 

"Resurrection"

"A dying person is resuscitated and completely revived.

At that time, the person becomes a "Sage"².

However, just dying is not enough to go through a reincarnation, only when various conditions are met and the person has thoroughly died once, will they be reborn.

The conditions for this are not clear, but the general theory is that the person must be favored by God."

"Sage."

"A being who has been reborn and has stepped into the realm of the divine, deviating from the realm of mortals.

According to ancient texts, some of them have lived to a thousand years, but since they have not been found across the ages of war, the details of whether they are still alive or dead are unknown.

They are sometimes called wisemen because they have at least five times more magic power, life span, physical strength, and knowledge than before their rebirth.

In addition, their appearance will never change, as they will stop aging at the time of their rebirth.

They become immortals, but since they are not immortal, there are only a few of them."

I read the dictionary to that point and close it.

............ No, wait a minute.

What is this fantasy?

I'm not sure what to do. What is magic power?

What's that, I'm going to have to live for a thousand years at most?

With this body?

With this middle aged man's body?

No, no, no, no, this can’t be serious—.

This really can’t be serious—.

This can’t be, I'll really go crazy.

I mean, Kami-sama³, you actually don't like the people you chose as a wisemen, right, no matter how you look at it, this is simply harassment.

Everything is at least 5 times more, I don't know what the standard is, but this is basically a monster.

Eh, eh, eh, eh, what’s with that, no way right? I'm human, right?

…… oh but to descend to madness I don’t think I have such a delicate spirit.

But anyways, I'm becoming used to this body very fast already?

The reason is simple.

I have a high adaptability.

...... That's a lie. I'm not used to it.

I'm still confused.

Changing clothes, toilets, toilets, toilets!!

There's no way I can get used to a man's body in one day, of course not!

For the time being, I'm not going to think about the most difficult part that awaits me after this: the bath.

... But it's true that I have a lot of confidence in my boldness.

If I wasn't bold, I wouldn't be thinking about making it in the entertainment industry, where the clouds are swirling and the competition is fierce.

Let's put all the confusion and stopping aside for now.

Otherwise, I won't be able to move forward.

In front of the bookshelf in my study, I stared at the spine of a dictionary.

Then, I suddenly remembered the butler.

...... I'm a cowardly woman.

I don't know if it's okay to live.

I pretend to be someone he trusts very much, who doesn't know my own existence, my own name, or anything else.

... But it can't be helped.

If I don't find the meaning of my existence, it's going to be hard for me to live from now on.

I have to live in this body, so I have to get myself up for it.

Impossible? There's no way I don’t know.

But there's no other choice, so I have to do it.

As long as I affirm my existence.

It's a relief to be told that it's okay to be who I am now.

Even if I'm not the same person inside, even if I don't understand anything.

Besides, if I don't live my life as Augusto Werstein, I won't be able to face Augusto-san nor Julia-san, whom I've never even seen before.

If I don't do it, who will?

... No, that's another lie.

… Because I got this body for myself selfishly, or that I won’t be able to face them, that’s just a front.

I just don't want to die.

That's why I'm playing Augusto-san to cover up the guilt of deceiving, and at least try to reassure the people around me.

... I'm the worst, aren't I?

It's all just for self-satisfaction.

But I still want to live.

I want to live, even if I have to deceive everyone around me and even myself.

I just don't want to die.

...... And since I've already played the part, I can't back out now.

I can't turn back now.

In the end, it doesn't matter if no one notices.

I think that in order to live, it’s actually better to hide it.

I can't predict what will happen if people find out that a modern person is mixed in with them.

In the worst case, I could be killed.

... I can't even forgive myself if I'm the one who's inside of this nice middle aged man that I like.

Actually, I don’t like it, that such a beautiful middle aged man is actually a woman.

It’s way too unfortunate! It’s too disappointing! I’m even starting to leak blood lust!

Yeah, no.

I have to hide it.

...... Well, even if I said it, I don't think anyone would believe me.

I don't care about that right now.

But more importantly.

I put my dictionary back in its place and looked into the distance.

I don't know anything about governing, so I have to study it, but I have no idea which one it is.

No, it should be an aristocrat, an aristocrat stands on top, that is, an important person, right?

When you’re an important person, your work has to suit that of one or you’ll die in an overthrowing or something. I don’t want that to happen.

Then I’ll have to work hard. Yep.

What’s a governor supposed to do?

I can't.

All I can think of is stomping around, stroking Persian cats and blowing cigars.

No, that's not nobility, it's mafia.

No, what do aristocrats usually do?

There's also a book on imperialism, but it seems to be about how aristocrats think and how to be right, so I don't think it's very useful right now.

I'll read it when I get settled.

I wonder where I can find books on economics, accounting, and the like.

I can't find anything but history books, grimoires, and etc.

But I'll read these when I get settled.

I don't know what it is, but I heard that I can use magic.

And where's the book with all the stuff you need to rule?

I know I'll need a map and some information on the characteristics of the region I'm ruling.

... Maybe it's not in the study, but in a work room.

If so, there's no point in coming to the study.

…… For now, I’ll at least get a grasp on history.

No matter how much I’m lacking memories, if I don’t know at least the bare minimum it would be strange.

I pull out a thick history book from the bookshelf and open it gently.

Let's see, the Kingdom of Luna Milia was founded seven hundred years ago by the first king, King Roiz Lunamilia.

Hmmm.

After reading through the book and understanding most of it, I closed it for the time being.

......... To summarize, it was a book that described the coolest policies that the kings have come up with from the first king to now, and typical major incidents, wars, and stuff like that.

For reference ......... It really doesn’t work....

As I thought, it's probably not here.

I gently put it back on the bookshelf for now.

"Master"

When I'm suddenly called out I feel very surprised on the inside, but I turn my face toward the voice while pretending to be calm, and as I thought it was the butler who was there.

Can you please stop talking to me all of a sudden, it's bad for my heart.

No, I'm not going to show it at all.

It's not dignified to be a scared middle aged man.

“What?”

"Your son, Young Master Michaelis, is here to see you.”

When I asked him what he wanted, the butler bowed reverently and said so.

Well, yes.

Yes, my son is here!

...... What should I do?

I mean, since he’s here I need to meet him, uhn.

What is he here for?

Your lying father is sick? As he recovered, you came to see him.

Yeah, there’s no other choice, let’s do our best.

“I see, let him in”

“Understood”

The butler, responded so and gave a reverent bow before leaving dashingly, and the one he brought back after a while was,

A man who looked super like a prince.

With long eyelashes and blue eyes.

Straight, silky blond hair that shined in the sun.

The word "Ikemen Prince" is perfect for this face.

Eh, son? This is my son?

I don't think so. I don't see much resemblance. He looks like his mother?

That means she's really pretty!

And this prince...

“..............."

What's wrong with him? He's staring at me and he's frozen.

“……………"

No, say something.

“…Father”

“Michaelis, huh?”

I'm pretty sure it was a sparkling name like that.

It's easy to see that you must have been like an angel when you were little.

I don't know if angels in this world are also called Michael or something like that.

“I'm back.”

“I see”

I thought he finally spoke, but that was it.

What the hell is this?

I'm really having trouble reacting.

As I looked at him, flinching inwardly, the prince finally opened his mouth.

“First of all, I would like to congratulate you on your recovery."

“I see.”

So that's it, huh?

...... It's hard to reply.

I don't know what the right way to be a father is.

I don't know.

I don't know how to be a dignified father because my father was crazy.

Anyway, I decided to think about how that actor I admire would play the role.

I have no other choice.

“...... Father.”

“What?”

I snapped back to reality when I heard someone call out to me.

"Don't you have anything to say to me?”

He was staring at me like I was crazy.

"......... Hmm, what do you want to say?”

I crossed my arms and urged him to go on.

Nothing? I'm not afraid of being stared at.

No, I'm really scared.

Why are you staring at me like that? It's your father. What is it?

Do you really hate your father?

Oh no! What are you doing, Augusto? You're scaring me, damn it! Stop it! Stop it!

As I was complaining to Augusto-san in my brain to distract myself from my fear, he glared at me and said

"... I'm referring to the support given to Count Rhodriess.”

He told me crisply.

However, a small question suddenly arose towards this prince.

“I thought you were going to devote yourself to the (Knights) Order?”

That's what I heard, though, from the butler.

Why are you bothering to interfere with what your father did?

"Well... I wouldn't be saying this if my father hadn't provided support to those instigating against the country."

"I see.”

No, no, no, no. What are you doing, Augusto?

Like of course you’ll be targeted, no matter how much you want to die, you can’t do that.

Like this, of course even musuko-san will come complain. There’s no other choice.

“What the hell do you mean to do?”

“Michaelis."

Anyway, he looked like he was about to go into a rage, so I stared at him and called out his name.

“...... What is it?”

Yeah, I wonder what it is.

At any rate, I couldn't get caught up in his pace, so I called out his name, but what should I do from here?

However, it would be unnatural if I didn't say something.

Well, well, well, well.

"What are you talking about, at this point?”

I calmly asked back.

Because, you know.

Because probably, this is already done.

It’s already happened, right?

So there's nothing I can do about it now.

Then he opened his mouth with a pained look on his face, as if he had just bitten a bitter bug.

“I know I have no right to say this, as I’ve been neglecting home and only focusing on the knights. …… But…!"

Eh, no, wrong, that’s not it.

Not that.

I know I said something easy to misunderstand, but this isn't funny, wait and calm down, Onii-san.

"I'll have you tell me today! Why did you do what you did?!"

Wai-, sto-, come back, Onii-san, come back.

—Don’t go off on your own in some incomprehensible direction.

I stare at him, but he just stares back at me desperately.

Oh no, I can't do this anymore.

I think I need to shift to that direction.

Let's see, let's see... Okay, how about this?

"Hmm, there was no meaning in paying attention to that small fry.”

“WH…!”

Skill! That sounds like something a villain would say!

As expected, this Onii-san is staring at me as if in a state of shock.

Wait, wait, wait. What am I saying? Am I stupid?

“... No, I suppose it had a meaning, huh?”

"... Father?"

That’s right, there is one, a meaning.

After all, it's the reason I'm still alive.

... Huh? I mean, this is a good opportunity, isn't it?

My eldest son, who wasn't interested in the house, went to the trouble of interfering, which means it's in serious trouble, right?

If I do well, I can pass the ruling and house and everything else to musuko-san and fade out, right?

If it's decided I’ll have to work hard!

Roar! My power of improvisation!

"Michaelis, what kind of mother was Julia to you?”

“…What is it so suddenly?”

To the prince who looks at me with doubt in his expression, I open my mouth while putting on my a expression leaking sadness

"... To me, she was the sun, she was everything.”

Even though I was surprised by the words that came out of my mouth so easily without thinking, I continued.

“I didn't care about my country. I didn't care if I had to leave everything behind.”

I had a feeling as though something was stuck in my chest, and I even felt an inexplicable sense of sadness, which made me feel a little confused.

It was one of my strong points that I could easily get into a role, but this wasn't like that.

It was as if I was Augusto himself.

Oh, I see.

Maybe it's a kind of sorrow that's ingrained in my body.

He really is a sad person.

“…It can’t be you did all of this only for the sake-”

"I was just desperate, that's all.”

Contrary to the lines that come out of my mouth and my sad attitude, my mind is calm.

But when I think of Augusto, who loved his wife until the grief seeped into his body and he couldn't get rid of it, I feel sad, regardless of acting.

Julia-san must have been very happy to be loved that much.

But at the same time, she must have been very sad.

I can't imagine how she felt when she had to die, leaving behind her adorable son and someone who loved her so much.

It must have been unimaginably painful.

“... Let me ask you again, what kind of mother was she to you?”

When I asked him again, he began to speak in whispers, holding his chest as if in some kind of pain.

“It was around the time I was developing my mind,… I don’t have much memory. …

But she was kind to everyone, intelligent... She was the perfect duchess. I thought she was a beautiful person, like a model of a mother."

He looked very sad as he said this.

”Oh... I see.”

It really was a good family, huh.

And yet, the war destroyed everything.

It is inevitable that Augusto held a grudge.

But what you should really hate is not the country.

What you should really resent is the war and the people who started it.

Nevertheless, this person resented his country.

“I was trying to destroy everything she loved.”

I'm sure he was so shocked by Julia-san’s death that he couldn't think straight and ended up hating his country, but I think that's what it means to make an enemy of your country.

“I’m sure it’ll never be forgiven”

Until now a lot of grudges must have accumulated

It must be a lot since it was enough to have an assassin sent.

That’s why.

“Father..."

I gazed at musuko-san’s face.

Ah, if you look closely, you can see the eyes are just like his father.

"Michaelis, you're free now”

"What do you mean?”

To the silently spoken words, musuko-san made a surprised expression and wrinkled his eyebrows.

“I have become a wise man, and therefore you no longer need to take over the family.”

Speak until there and take a light breath.

"... But if you want to take over the family, I'll be happy to step down."

“Wha…!"

To the musuko-san who opened his eyes wide in astonishment I continued to speak.

“It’s all up to you”

Okay! I've said it!

I don't think such a useless father should be entrusted with governing! I should’ve been able to convey my feelings.

Now, go ahead and take the governorship!

"Please don't say such selfish things!”

Huh?

"You destroyed it yourself, making a mess of it, now you want to leave it to me and throw it away again?”

No, wait a minute, Onii-san.

Even if you say that. There’s lots of problems.

"...... The people will never forgive me.”

“What does that matter for?”

“…Michaelis”

No, no, no, no, that kind of thing, the trust of people, is important, ok?

How hard do you think it is to get that back?

Speaking of which, it's me who will go through all the trouble.

"The man I admired, chased, and watched when I was little wasn’t so small!”

Wait, wait, wait, let's calm down? Let’s calm down a little okay, Onii-san?

"...... But I know you resent me, too.”

"Yes! I resented, hated and despised you! But that's not who you are now, father!”

Eh?

"......... Are you serious?”

“I'm serious!”

I'm serious, he told me, but seriously, please wait, Onii-san.

“You never know when things will go wrong again.”

"Then I will support you, because I've been working hard for it since I was little!”

Ehhhhhhhhhhhh?

“Whenever you take a wrong turn, this time, I, your son, will stop you! I'm no longer a helpless child, father!"

...... How did this happen?



 
 

Click on the number to go back to where you were before.

[1] : 賢者(Kenja) - wiseman/sage are the same thing here


[2] : This was originally wiseman i changed it to sage to keep it constistant

[3] : 'God', but it sounded better like this when they're aiming their words at it.

[4] : イケメン(Ikemen) - Handsome/Good-looking/cool man

[5] : 息子ーさん(Musuko-san) - son, his son

[6] : お兄ーさん(Onii-san) - Young man/brother, this swings better than the translations


6,130 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page