top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelkiresha Zenon

Resurrection of Duke Werstein ~ I Didn’t Hear Anything About Being A Middle-aged Man ~ 13

Updated: Apr 12, 2021






After breakfast, the butler led me to the office.

I walked along, vaguely thinking that this would become my daily routine.

The view from the window in this corridor seemed to be the courtyard of the mansion.

I can see the rose garden, which was beautifully arranged.


There were other flowers in the garden, but they were all red, probably for Julia-san's sake.


...... But I think it would be better to mix in flowers of different colors because the base as only red isn’t really looking all that good.

I'll tell the butler about it later.


By the way, red can be matched with similar colors, warm colors, white, or black.

There aren’t many type of flowers, so it’s probably okay to increase them.


By the way, today's breakfast consisted of bread like a butter roll, soup that tasted like corn soup, and crispy bacon wrapped in asparagus-like vegetables.

There was no seasoning with salt or pepper, but the bacon had a nice thick flavor, so I ate it without any problem.

It was very tasty.


I used to be a person who couldn't eat too much in the morning, but now that I'm in Augusto-san's body, I'm thankful that it's not so hard.

Eating good food helps reduce stress.


...... Maybe Augusto-san turned into a pig because he was overeating to reduce stress....


As I pondered this, I sat down in the chair that I had finally gotten used to sitting in after three days.

Then, I called out to the butler as I picked up a handful of documents.


“Alfred."

"The seamstress, Chérie, has informed me that she has designed a new dress¹ and would like me to take a look at it. What can I do for you?"


As aspected of butler-san, I haven’t said anything yet and he already knows what I’m talking about.


I mean it's a little late to say it now, but I guess it’s also the butler's job to manage my schedule.

I feel like it was the same yesterday, I wonder if all the management other than work was thrown to someone else².

... If that's the case, it would be suspicious if I start managing the schedule...

I'll just intervene from the side and say, so this is what I want to do.

I'm sure he'll tell me if there's something that needs to be confirmed.


But as I thought he’s so perceptive, it’s scary.


Yeah, I don't care! Get used to it, me!


"Hmm, that was fast. Then tell her to come here in a bit"


I said so with caution³, and picked up the documents to check.


I'm getting used to this role, but I can't let my guard down.

As a modern person, I can't predict what will happen and how it will turn out.

There's no way I would know.


While thinking about this, my gaze is fixed on the documents.


Let's see, I'm pretty sure I calculated this much yesterday, so yeah, it’s alright, I remember.


Okay, let's calculate for now.

While holding the quill in my hand, I calculate the cost in my head.


... I feel like it's been less than two days since that visit, but maybe it's just my imagination.

You're working so fast, Needle-san.

Well, it's still in the design stage, so I guess if it’s early its early.


By the way, not even two seconds have passed in between, since all my thoughts, calculations, and other actions are going on at the same time.


Wiseman are awesome.


“Understood. Also, several letters have arrived for you.


The butler bowed reverently to my reply, then took out some letters from his pocket and laid them out in an empty space on his desk.


“Hmm."


... I guess I'll have to throw the calculations for later now.

It would be a bonus if I disregarded the letters.


Even in modern times, I've neglected e-mails, letters, and direct mails, and before I knew it, I was behind on payments and all sorts of other troublesome things.

The worst was when I didn't pay my rent by direct debit, and the amount of overdue payments became huge.


I thought I was going to die.


I put the quill back in my hand, put the documents next to me, take a quick glance at the letters, and picked up one at random.


This is, uh, the reply from Lord Sylvest that I sent yesterday morning.

That was fast... I got a reply in a day.

I thought the basic means of transportation in this world was by horse?

I wonder if there's any other way to send mail.


I don't know, I'll look it up later.

... I have so many things to check, I'm afraid I'll forget.

But it’s probably fine with Augusto-san specs, right?


Well, okay, let's see, the content is .........


Yeah, yeah? Yeah.


…… How to say this, it’s super friendly-?


No, maybe it's just my imagination, let's read it again.


............... It's really friendly.


Anyway, here's how it translates into Japanese.


"Dear Duke of Werstein


Thank you for your letter! I've been feeling like I've got more friends since about the day before yesterday, so it's totally fine!


I can't be bothered to decide on a date or anything, so I'll just head over there when you get this letter!

I'll see you then!


In addition, this letter will automatically change to the transfer destination summoning team.


Genius Sylvest.”


… … … Uhn.


"......... Alfred."

“What is it?"


"I seems Lord Sylvest is on his way."

“…right, now?"

"And he's not coming through the gates, he's coming directly here."


".................. Wa?"


Perhaps it was too unexpected for the butler too, but in a rare moment it seems that his voice leaked.

You can't blame him. I'm sure I'd say the same thing if someone said that to me.


At that time, I suddenly felt the magical power in my body move a little bit on its own, and it was sucked into the letter.


It's fine since it doesn't decrease at all, but it's bad for my heart.

No, because it moves soberly like a slur … it's unpleasant. 

It's like when an amoeba or something moves, agh.


Just as I was thinking this, the letter left my hand and floated in the air.


It floated?


Wait a minute, what is this.


Inwardly puzzled, I stared at the floating letter.

On the outside, I'm just quietly staring at it, but on the inside, I'm in an uproar.

I can't help it.


No, I really don't understand anymore.


Just when it seemed that the letter, which had been floating softly, had moved to the center of the office like it was dancing in the wind, a ball of light appeared with a sound that seemed to split the air.


The next moment, the ball emitted a dazzling light.


If you make it into a sound I’d be a ka~tsu.⁶


I don't really know what happened, but my senses told me that there was a connection between somewhere and here and that something was coming.

I don't know anything about the principle of it, but I somehow know that it was activated in exchange for magic power.

I don't even know how I know that.


And I don't know how great this is, so I can't take any reaction.


I really don't know what to say.


And when the light slowly converged and disappeared, there was a person standing there.


He has a long, white, loosely wavy beard, pure white hair, small round glasses, and lots of wrinkles that look like they have been etched in over the years.


If I had to compare him to Santa Claus, I'd say he was slim.

You could say he is a typical wizard from a picture book.

He's not bent at the waist, so he's probably in his early old age.

No, I don't know.


Maybe it's because he's wearing a khaki robe or something.

The old man, smiling with the air of a good-natured old man, opened his mouth happily.


"Well, well, it looks like it's real!"


... Wait a minute, what did you just say?


There are a lot of things that bother me, but I'm curious for now, so I decided to take a look and digest it.


"... I'm very sorry, Old Master, but what the hell does that mean?"


Because, like, that remark is as if there were an impostor.


It was a question while thinking that, but the old man kept a smile on his face with a Nico Nico.


"If you are a fake wise man, you will die because of lack of magical power, and the magical power is absorbed with vitality before the summon is activated!”


Oh, there really are wise imposters.


Judging from what was said, it's probably a scammer or something like that.

Maybe it was an easy scam or a extortion.¹⁰


Then that can’t be helped, there’s no way it’s like that!

Is this old man a smooth murderer! I'm scared!


"…… That's quite the terrible trap."


I was taken aback, but I managed not to show it at all, and tried to act calm and collected as I told him plainly.


It's too radical to be an anti-scammer!


"Because it's annoying. After all, there's no point in being alive right, these guys who don't even properly live from the beginning but try to test me?”


The old man tilted his head with his lips pouting or rather like sulking a little as if it were only natural.


No, not, after all, there’s more right.


"You can summon them to you, make a contract with them, and use them as you see fit."


... I realized it after I said it, but I wonder about this too.

I'd rather be dead, I think.


I'm sure you're not the only one.

No, I don't know what a contract with a familiar is like, but!

Oh no, I'll have to do some research later.


By the way, Augusto-san's knowledge was only about offense and attack, as if he wasn't really interested in anything else.


There was no such thing as defense, concealment, or assistance.


There seems to also have such a thing, but I don't need it, so I guess it was left out.


He's got magic, bodywork, swordsmanship, and everything else, so he's really biased.

He's like a brainy warlord who only knows the bare minimum.

Oh, but I did have a good knowledge of diplomacy.


As I was thinking about this, grandpa stroked his long beard as if he had found something interesting.


“Ho Ho, I see, you’re quite good. But I see there was that way too.”


Oh, no, this old man is really into it.

This is a pattern of giving unnecessary wisdom to a boisterous old man¹¹.

But now that I've said it, I can't back out.


This is what makes ad-libbing so difficult.

No, it's supposed to be fun, but it's my life on the line.

...... I think I'll just say something like that to cover it up.


"It's a shame to waste an opportunity to get a useful pawn."

“Hmm, there was enough to make at least one division. It’s truly a shame. What an idiot I am”


The old grandpa stroked his beard repeatedly at the same tempo and lamented in a regretful voice.

If it were a more normal topic, I would have just said he was a cute old man, but because of the bleak conversation, I don't really know what to do.

Because, in other words, this grandpa is killing quite a lot of people.


It's so scary.


......... Yeah, okay! Let's change the subject.


"So, Old Master, you're Lord Sylvest correct?"

“Uhm, I am Margrave¹² Genius Sylvest”


If I were to add a sound effect. It would probably be den!¹³

The old man, with his chest outstretched, said his name in a dignified manner.


Hmm? Wait, Margrave... What kind of position does that mean?


With such a question, I did a search using the knowledge in my head.


There was one match.


Margrave

A rank on par with a duke.

In this country, it's a one-time honorary title appointed by the king.

The main job is to be able to fight in times of need, so basically, wise men are often chosen.


Oh, he was so great!

And he's almost as great as me!


Oh, no, this is not the time to be thinking about that.


“Forgive my lateness, I'm Duke Augusto Werstein, I'm inexperienced¹⁴, I would appreciate your guidance.”


Greetings are important.

Predecessors¹⁵ tend to have basic etiquette of respect in their manners after all.

But even so, somehow the tone of voice is hard to understand, sorry grandpa.


"I don't know if you're trying to be respectful or pompous."


That's right.


"I'm sorry about this, but I don't know what the right attitude and tone would be."


It's really a problem, while putting on this kind of troubled atmosphere, I lightly shake my head.


He is of equal rank, but much older and wiser.


Well, even without acting I’m really confused as to how to act, it probably turned into natural acting.


"I don't care about that. Don't worry about it, we're going to be friends for a long time anyway."


Seeing me acting all awkward and bewildered, Grandpa smiled and said cheerfully, with the air of a good-natured old man staring at his grandson.


I don't really get it, but I was forgiven by him himself, we did it Augusto-san!

Oh, but let's just make sure.

I don't want him to complain about it later.


"Hmm, so I can treat you as a friend?"


"No problem! I don't care about your rank or age!"


The old man replied with a Santa Claus-like smile, showing no sign of concern.


Yes, I've got your word.

Then it's just¹⁶ fine!


"I see, then I’ll do that"


"You've become all high and mighty, huh"


As I acted in the same way as I always do, I was stared at me with a sense of dismay.


No, but I've taken your word.


Besides, after this, I've got work to do.

Since you're ignoring my convenience and suddenly coming uninvited, I rather wouldn’t mind if you treated me more casually. 

So basically that’s how it is.


"It's just a habit. I'd appreciate it if you didn't mind too much."


"Habit, I can’t be helped then. I've been stroking my beard for hundreds of years and I still can't get rid of it."


I tried to explain it to him, and he seemed kind of convinced as he replied with a serious face.

I see, it's a matter of this kind of experience.


Well, it’s not like I can’t understand.

Habit is not something you can't break even if you are conscious of it.

Because they are unconscious actions.


Me? I'm aware of everything I'm doing while performing, so unless it's a habit of Augusto-san's, I'm sure I'm not showing my natural habit.


By the way, my habit is to touch my earlobes after I put my hair over my ears for some reason.


It is a regrettable memory that I could not get my ear pierced because of this habit.

I didn't want to lose my earlobe if it got infected.

As an actress, that's just not going to happen.


Oh well, let's change the subject.

I don't know anything about Augusto-san's habits to keep talking about them.

No matter how many memories you have, you can't know all the things you do unconsciously.


"By the way, you mentioned in your letter that you've been feeling like you're getting more friends since about the day before yesterday..."

"Well, yes. I'm sorry I was testing you."


He clasped his hands together and bowed his head.


... Well, if it had been a normal person, he would have died.

It's attempted murder, isn't it? That's scary.


I don't think it's worth it to just verbally apologize, but it's okay, I'm scared.


"So you're saying it's a lie?


When I asked him again, he straightened up, smiled, and answered.


"No, a wiseman can sense the presence of other wisemen.

Though he only knows if they are around here or not!

That's why I've taken this approach."


"I see."


I nodded my head in agreement.


If it's such a vague feeling, it may be inevitable.

... But one wrong move and someone would have died.


If someone had read that letter on the spur of the moment...

If I had bothered to have the butler read it to me.


Just thinking about it made me feel a knot in my stomach.


Ah- I don't like it-... aristocracy is scary.


I mean, life is taken too lightly.

It's like the Warring States period¹⁷.


But that's the way it is, so I guess it can't be helped.

Even if I don't agree with it, there’s nothing I can do about it.



In the meantime, I'll try to see if I can recognize other wisemen later too.


I feel like my list of things to do later is getting bigger and bigger.

......... Oh well, I'll figure it out! Surely I will!


"Oh, and by the way, if we have an official meeting, it will be troublesome in many ways…"


Suddenly, I was very convinced by Grandpa’s words, who muttered seriously and annoyed.


I'm sure you don't want to get involved in any trouble.


In any case, the duke and the margrave, two of the most powerful people in the world after the royal family, are meeting here right now.

It’s uncertain whether it's a good thing or not.


“After all it's really troublesome if we’re told something like. It’s a rebellion!”


"Haha, that's true."


Ho-ho-ho! The old man laughed, and I laughed too, but it was no laughing matter.


I don't like the idea of being suspected like that and beheaded.

Thank you, grandpa. I'll just thank you for now, regardless of the reason.


“It’s unexpectedly easy to match conversations with you, even though you have a face of a baddie"


"I was born this way. Oh, Alfred, get something to drink"


I remembered the portraits of the disinherited royalty or my great-grandfather, and he had a very baddie kind of face, so I guess the baddie looks are inherited from generation to generation.

So, please don't go into it too much.


While thinking about this, I pulled aside the documents and letters on my desk and instructed the butler.

Then, a teacup was instantly placed on the desk, as if he had already prepared it.


"The tea is ready, sir. Please sit down here, Margrave Sylvest-sama.”¹⁸


The butler said and encouraged Grandpa to sit down on the sofa by the desk that was set up for resting.

Grandpa sat down on the sofa, smiling happily.


"I'm sorry about this. But I'd rather have coffee."


He something like that then picked up the teacup on the desk and sipped it.


"I'd appreciate it if you wouldn't be so selfish as to show up unexpectedly."


Then don't drink it, old man.

I thought to myself.


"Ho ho ho! That's true too! Sorry, sorry!"


He didn't seem to mind at all and laughed carefreely.

If you just glance at butler-san, you can see his mouth twitching for a moment.

In his might, he’s might be thinking, what's with this old man. 

I can't be helped.


The butler, however, smiled his usual soft smile, bowed in his usual neat manner, and replied as he always does to me.


"I'm sorry, but I'll have it ready for you the next time you come in."

"I like Yagmoth's beans.”¹⁹


The grandpa nodded his head in satisfaction at the butler's reply and incidentally added.


Uhm... I feel like the voice of butler's mind and mine just synchronized.


Of course, all I could think is..., how brazen you old man.


“Understood, I will definitely get it done by next time.”


"I'll look forward to it. However, you really have a tremendous amount of magic, you know.


The butler took out a binder with something like a voucher and a charcoal-like object from his pocket to take notes as if he was planning to make arrangements immediately.


Yeah, stop.


"I don't want to be too aware of it, so please leave it alone."


I don't want to think about it, seriously.


I drank the tea from my teacup, thinking inwardly about such things. 

I don't know what kind of tea it is, but it's delicious.

Personally, I want to add milk.

Sugar is,... I think I'll fall asleep.


"Ho ho ho! That's funny. Well, with that much surplus, I suppose you could have three of the forbidden arts²⁰ going at once.”


"I'd rather not think about it.”


I don't know what forbidden arts are, but I don't want to pull it out of my knowledge, so I'm going to leave it out.

Because I have a bad feeling about it.


"Well, certainly this kind of situation, the world would need to be ending! Ho-ho-ho!"

"Don't say something so unlucky, even if it’s a joke."


Don't talk to me about the end of the world, because I don't want to die.


“Sorry, sorry!"


The old man was laughed at and apologized in a casual manner.


I'm really annoyed with this old man.



...... In the meantime, I understand that I'm out of the league.

If a wiseman treats you as if you are his equal, you must be a wiseman, no matter how much you don't want to admit it.

But still, it's hard being told so clearly.


I know I'll have to figure it out someday, but right now I don't have the presence of mind to do so! I can't do it! End!


So, let's change the subject.



"Now, let's get into the main subject. 

May I ask what I look like to you?"


Confirming the identity of the new sage.

I guess that's the reason why he came all the way here, anyway.


Thinking like this, I lightly tipped my teacup.

The fine tea leaves that had sunk to the bottom of the teacup swayed.


"…… That's right. I heard a rumor that the head of the duke's family became a dark fool after losing his wife, but now it seems that there is no such thing."


The grandpa, who was sipping his tea with a sizzling sound, turned his gaze to me and replied in a mumbled voice.

As expected, his gaze is as if he's checking something out, as if he's assessing something.


I let out a small breath as I catch the grandpa's gaze.


"... No, even now I'm still afraid of losing it.

So I'm very worried that one day I'll do the same thing all over again."


There is no guarantee that I will not do the same thing as Augusto-san.


That's why I have to understand my situation, circumstances, death, separation, everything, as soon as possible.


I'm not ready for this.

I don't even understand it.


It is nothing but a foolish plan to continue living in such a state.


"... For that, think of it as fate and give up.

If you want to live as a wiseman, you have to accept it."


I couldn't help but smile as he said exactly what I was thinking right now.

It was something akin to a sneer, though.


"That's not even advice."

"It can't be helped, that's all I can say.


The old man let out a small sigh and muttered in a tone of resignation.


I see, he understands from his years of experience that there is no point in saying something half-heartedly.


"…… I’m not planning on us licking each other’s wounds."


These words spilled out of my mouth.


I felt nauseous just imagining myself wanting to be comforted because I was in pain.


Is it okay to be feminine because I am a woman? There’s no way that’s the case.

I have no intention of saying or doing such beautiful things as I'll grit my teeth and keep going even if it's hard, I won't look back, I can do it if I try.

But there was something inside of me something like a vague belief, and it became the guideline for my way of life.


I will not live in a way that I am not satisfied with.


That's all.


"Then you'll have to get over it yourself."


Grandpa said, smiling as if troubled.


I stared at the tea leaves, shaking faintly at the bottom of my cup.



... When I want to cry, I will cry.

There will be times when anger will take over.

There will be many times in the future that I will tell lies to someone.


But it's all something you have to digest on your own.


I can no longer live ambiguously, relying on someone else.


"It's really troublesome."


What came out of my mouth with a sigh was unmistakably my true feelings.


It's a pain in the ass. Seriously.


I have no parents, no friends, not even old acquaintances.

I have to think, act, and decide everything important on my own.


When I think about it again, it’s like what is this? I wonder.

After all, it's like being thrown out to a foreign country by yourself and then being put in an important position.

If I were an ordinary person, I'd probably kill myself.


Me? I've never thought about suicide or anything like that.

I was about to enter the entertainment industry, there's no way I'm sensitive.

I'm going to live no matter how hard it is.


Bullying? Bad words? Backbiting? Teasing? Ignoring me? Being alone?

I don't care about those little things.


Because I'd rather not die.



“Troublesome, you say! This is about yourself!"


I don't know what was so funny, but the grandpa suddenly put his hand over his mouth and blurted out, pfff-! I wonder what's so funny.

What’s more, he started to laugh at a weird sound! Ahyahyahyah.


What a depressing thing to do when people are trying so hard to think seriously.


But I couldn't let it show in my attitude, so I asked him in a nonchalant manner, acting as if I didn't care at all.


"Okay, so?"

"Well, yes. You and I are going to be good neighbors."


I was so surprised by his unexpected words that for a moment I felt like I was going to lose my act.

But I forced myself to regain my composure.


"Oh, is it okay if you trust me so early?"

"I've lived for a very long time, you know. I've lived a very long life, and I've already surpassed my natural ability to judge people after more than five hundred years."


When I asked him, Ho-ho-ho. While laughing he responded with certain confidence somewhere.


"I see, you don't want to make an enemy of me."


"Why are you being so negative, dude? Well, you're not wrong. After all, you're stronger than me."


............... What?


"... I didn't expect that."

"You can tell by comparing the amount of magic."


... Yeah, let's see.


"......... I don't want to understand it, so let's not."

"Well, it's an amount that seems to be bad for your heart if you understand it. I think that's a wise decision." 

"I don't want to imagine it.:


I replied in a reasonable manner, and then I pretended I hadn't heard anything.


I don't know, I don't know! I didn't hear anything! I have not heard a single thing! Alright!


While I was desperately telling myself that, my grandpa looked at me with a smile, like he was staring at his grandson.


"Well, I think it would be a good stimulus for me to have a good relationship with you, regardless of your magical power."


Suddenly, the old man started to say something nice, but I only felt uncomfortable because of his previous attitude.


"In other words, you want to use me to relieve your stress."

"So why are you being so negative?

"I was joking."

"I can't tell when you say it with that serious face."


Grandpa's mouth twitched as if sulking.


It's all because of my attitude, so I think I deserve it.


So, I went through with it.


"Hmm, so what are you going to do on the way back?"

"You're ignoring me? Well, whatever.

I'm going home by transfer, so no problem. Anyway, do you have any tea cakes?"


This old bastard is really brazen.


"...... Alfred."

"You may not like it, but try this one."


In response to my call, the butler placed a basket containing something from the cart he had brought with him onto the table in front of Grandpa.


When he saw it, his eyes widened in surprise.


"Wow! This is a new species that's been making the rounds lately, isn't it?"


"Yes, I got it from the Rajrain territory.

It seems that this kind was named Tanger."


The butler then placed another basket of them in front of me.


It is a small orange fruit.


What can I say?



... It looks like a mandarin orange to me.



"It looks a lot like an orange, as they say."


"It's a new variety of orange, so I guess the resemblance is inevitable.

But this one is said to be sweeter and more flavorful."


As was such, I searched Augusto-san's memory for oranges and found that they were completely identical to the oranges I knew.

Well, the skin of this orange is hard and grapefruit-like.


"Are they smaller and more concentrated?"

"I guess so.

And the skin is soft, so you can separate the skin from the flesh without using a knife."



No, it's a mandarin orange, isn't it?



At any rate, I picked up one from the basket in front of me.


I'm not sure what to make of it.


I peeled the skin off and threw a bunch in my mouth, and it tasted very familiar.

In modern Japan, that taste is indispensable as an accompaniment to a kotatsu²¹ in winter.


"Wow! It's so easy to take off the skin! The taste, the indescribable flavor, it's so fine."

"I'm glad you like it."


I stared at the fruit, which looked like a mandarin orange while listening to the grandpa's happy voice.


Maybe it's the same thing with a different name.

I wonder if there are many of these things.


If so, I'd like to know about it.

The reason for this is that considering my position as a duke, not knowing about it could be a weakness.

New products are often the key to future distribution.

It's not like I'm the second most powerful family after the royal family, or rather I'm the second most powerful family after the royal family, and I can't afford to give them an opening, even if it's a small one.


...... I'm not sure what to say.


"... Alfredo, can you continue to order this?"


I looked at the citrus in his hand, ...... I'm not sure if this is a good idea or not.


Personally, I don't want to find too many of these things.

The reason is that it might make me homesick.

But still, if you know the same thing, you can't help but be curious about it.


I also want to eat.

As a person who came from modern Japan, where people are bored with food, I want to eat Japanese food someday.

I'm sure I'll miss rice, miso, and soy sauce no matter what.


Yes, it would be difficult to have too many, but it would be possible to enjoy them individually.


The butler answered as usual with a soft smile on his face.


"Hmm, but I thought oranges were in season in the fall or winter."


"It seems that they are cultivating it using magic, which is rare, so they can get it all year round in small quantities.

The only drawback is that they are prone to spoilage…"


Heh.

I don't know how great that is, so I can't say anything about it.

Oh well.


But it's easy to decompose?


"Hmm, I see. Then we'll freeze and store the surplus at home."


"I see! Very good, sir."

"Very good, I'll do the same next time I can get some!"


I was thinking that frozen tangerines are delicious, but my idea was unexpectedly well received.


 


"Well, Lord Sylvest, I think it's time for you to leave."

"You're so direct!"


After a few moments of chatting, I told him so, and to my surprise, the old man gave me a brilliant comeback.


"I don't have a lot of time on my hands."

“Bother a little more with this old man²².”


Punpun²³. He was so sulky that I could almost hear it. 

This old man is so annoying.


"I have my own schedule."


I have a job waiting for me.

I have a lot of work waiting for me, so much work that I feel like escaping for a while.


"Yeah? What are you doing?"


"It seems that I hadn't fulfilled my duties as the head of the family as far as I was concerned during my period of stupidity. Since that day, I've been reviewing and recalculating everything."


I don't want to think about it anymore, but what is it?


"...... Don't you ever leave it to someone else?"


The old man, who had opened and closed his mouth several times in exasperation, raised his eyebrows in concern.


"I can't do that because of the classified information.

And because this is the price I pay for shirking my duty."

"I see... But if you keep doing that, you'll get stressed out quickly."


"Yes, but this is something that can’t be helped."


In the meantime, I'd like to find a way to relieve stress as soon as possible.


I was thinking about this as I replied, but my grandpa looked somewhat disappointed and took out a book from his pocket.


"...... I see, this is a parting gift, take it."


He then placed the book on the desk.


"...... What kind of book is it?"


"Summoning magic. It's summoning magic, if you use it to summon any animal you want, you can fluff it up and nudge it all you want, and it'll relieve some of your stress."


I see, it's the so-called animal therapy!

I used to have a cat and a dog at home, so I might be very happy.


"Oh... I'll take that as a thank you."


I looked at the butler, and he promptly collected the book.


I'm going to try it when I have more time.

Well, I don't know if it can be used for me, but it will probably be okay.


"Well, I guess I have no choice but to leave."


The old man sat up, bustling and hustling, and muttered.


"Next time, I hope you'll let me know before you come."


The grandpa didn't seem to mind at all, as he smiled.


"Don't worry about it. The next time I come back, I'll give Jesse-chan a letter to make an exchange, and then I'll come at the exact time we agree on."


I'm curious about what Jesse-chan is, but I'll try not to worry about it.


"That's great, I'll be ready to entertain you."


"Ho, ho, ho! I don't like to overdo it, so I prefer to keep it small."


“There’s no need to worry, anyway unofficial right? If I do too much, who knows where it'll leak from?"

"That's true. Well, I'll be back."

"Yeah, I'll see you soon."


After this exchange, as I said my goodbyes, Grandpa lit a small light on his palm.

The light gradually increased in intensity until I found myself almost dazzled.


"Farewell! I'll tell you something, there are a lot of wise men who are more stubborn than me!"


Grandpa seemed to smile as he said so as the bright light radiated around him.


By the time the light subsided, Grandpa was already gone, and all that remained was the remains of the tangerine skin that had been cruelly devoured on the desk.


I mean, come on... I just heard a line that really bothered me as he was leaving, can I blame it on my imagination?

 
 

[1] : お召し物(Omeshimono) - dressing item/clothing; i thought it would be fun to leave it like this too


[2] : 丸投げだった(Marunagedatta) - in which 丸投げ(Marunage) means leaving all the decision-making to somebody else; this is honestly kind of hard to translate it sounds a lot better in Japanese)


[3] : 鷹揚にそう言いながら(Ōyō ni sō iinagara) - the literal translation of this is somewhat weird, so its also hard to fit if you don’t think hard enough, because 鷹揚(Ōyō) means falcon and it would accidentally translate into something like "I look hawkishly", or something like that, like wtf is that, that’s a thing, that’s a freaking word?????


[4] : I’m sorry he was right this was seriously so freaking friendly it’s weird, I’m like imagining this super OP old man with a super friendly smile on his face just saying this in a real soft but energetic voice like some elderly people do you know, here’s the Romaji of it - O tegami arigatō! Ototoi kuraikara nakama ga fueta ki ga shi tetakara zenzen okkēda yo!)


[5] : ジーニアス・シルヴェスト(Jīniasu shiruvu~esuto) - this is his name, i think…



[7] : カーキ色のローブ(Kāki-iro no rōbu) - yeah its a color just search it up if you’re really curious, it’s similar to a green beige)


[8] : 老師殿(Rōshi-dono)


[9] : おじいちゃん(Ojīchan) - Grandpa, it’s much cuter and more respectful(in most cases) than like Jiji; ニコニコ(Niconico) - its an SFX for smiling, like nico nico ni~, okay I’ll never say that again.


[10] : オレオレ詐欺(Oreore sagi) - the dictionary says チョロい(choroi) is a synonym - Cheap/easily persuaded by others/easily scammed/easily believe what other say/the person is easy/gullible/naive; たかり(takari) - sponging/extortion)


[11] : 爺様(Jīsama) - grandfather; but it doesn’t really fit all that well in English, it’s more respectful because it’s using sama)


[12] : honestly the best translation I could find - 辺境伯(Henkyō haku); some places might for example translate it as Count but there's a different word for that actually, not even just one I think, but Count in this story is a much lower position.


[13] : でん - SFX


[14] : 若輩者(jakuhaisha) - fledgling/junior member/inexperienced person/novice


[15] : 先人(Seijin) - predecessor/pioneer/ancestor)


[16] : う適当(tekitō) - unimportant/random/unreasonable/just right/casual)


[17] : 戦国時代(Sengoku jidai) - Sengoku Period/Warring States period; Japanese history, ~1467-1568 CE


[18] : the sama is actually added to “Margrave” but this seemed better, I added the sama to make a distinction between what Augusto and Alfred call him, because only Alfred uses sama.


[19] : ヨーグモス領の豆(Yōgumosu-ryō no mame) - the beans of Yagmoth territory; it’s the name of a territory in this world I assume.


[20] : キンジュツ(Kinjutsu)


[21] : こたつ, for those who don't know this is a Kotatsu

(It's the table in the middle, there's like a heater built into it. People normally take it out during the winter. There's a joke that it's no good because it makes people useless, 'cause it's warm and people don't want to leave after getting under it)


[22] : 老人(Rōjin) is used here - aged/old people/old person/old man


[23] : プンプン - SFX

4,367 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page